Edge Spinning Rod Review [Top Pros & Cons]

By: Luke Simonds on June 4, 2018
Found In:

edge rod review

Edge Spinning Rod Review

After seeing these Edge rodes at ICAST last year, I was determined to add one to my arsenal because it looked and felt so nice.

So I finally got one and have had a chance to get out on the water to see how it compares to the other rods that I’ve used and tested (see other fishing rod reviews).

This post describes the top pros and cons I have found for the Edge rod that I have been testing out for the past couple months.

Edge Spinning Rod Review Video

We’ll start off with this video explaining the top pros and cons of this high-quality rod from Edge.

Just click on the box below to watch the new rod review video:

Sign up for FREE to receive the latest saltwater fishing videos, tutorials, product reviews, and fishing product discounts!

Learn more about the Insider Fishing Club

Edge Rod Review: Pros

Here are the top pros that I have noticed so far after using my Edge rod on multiple trips targeting redfish, snook, and seatrout:

  1. Extremely Good Feel – Everything about these rods are focused on a high-performance feel
  2. Very lightweight – Gary stripped these rods of all unnecessary weight, so they are very light relative to other rods with similar power
  3. Easy Hookset Response – Given the fast action and strong lightweight rod blank, the hookset ratio with this rod has been very high even when using big soft plastic lures that are rigged weedless
  4. Made in the USA – It is always nice to see Made in the USA on our fishing products

Note: We’d love to hear your thoughts on your Edge rod, so please leave a Comment down below to share your experiences with these rods.

Edge Rod Review: Cons

Here are the top cons of the Edge rods that I have noticed so far:

  1. Price – These rods are typically priced in the high $300s to high $400s depending on the exact model chosen
  2. Power Rating Scale – The power rating on these rods is different than many others making it tough for angler who typically have their power preference and stick with it
    • If you generally prefer MH rods, then you’ll probably prefer the Medium power level from Edge best
  3. Tough To Find – These rods are difficult to find in local retailers because they are a relatively new company (the only place I’ve been able to find them is Southeastern Tackle here in Tampa)

Note: We’d love to hear your thoughts on your Edge rod, so please leave a Comment down below to share your experiences with these rods.

Edge Spinning Rod Specs

There are many options to choose from in the Edge line of rods (see their Inshore options here).

Here are the specs on the model that I have:

  • Model #: MBR 735-1
  • Action: Fast
  • Power: Medium Heavy
  • Length: 7ft 3in
  • Line Strength: 14-20 lb
  • Lure Weight: 1/4 – 3/4 oz

Conclusion

For those of us who enjoy fishing with premium fishing rods, these Edge rods are definitely worth a close look given how responsive these rods are.

All of the components in this rod are all focused on enabling maximized feel of everything that is going on the business end of the line.

The only two cons that I could think of were:

  • The high price that these premium rods sell for in stores.
  • Their power ratings are undervalued relative to most other rods making cross-brand comparisons more difficult.

If you have used any of the Edge rods, please let us know your thoughts about these rods in the Comment section below.

[Click here to see more rod reviews]

Do YOU Want New Fishing Spots In Your Area?

Then you’ve got to see this private fishing club!

Here’s what you’ll receive today:

  • Weekly fishing reports and TRENDS revealing where the inshore fish are feeding all year long
  • Weekly “spot dissection” videos that walk you through all the best spots in certain areas
  • Exclusive fishing tips from the PROS you can’t find anywhere else
  • Everything you need to start catching fish more consistently (regardless if you fish out of a boat, kayak, or land).

Click here to join today.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
29 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Joe
Joe
5 months ago

Got my rods last one just shipped ordered with the x-mas special. O there great just remember you can’t rush an artist. Be patient

CSC
CSC
5 months ago

Let the buyer beware, as they say. You are risking your money and your time if you order a rod from this company; you may get a quality rod within a reasonable period of time, but you may not, which was my experience. The complaints are numerous so I won’t bore you with mine, except to say this business should be out of business.

Antonio Garcia Jr
6 months ago

G Loomis Inc. A subsidiary of Shimano of America ,TFO Temple Forks Outfitters Where Rods were Designed by Gary Loomis. And now is The Person Behind Edge .Has A insight of developing Rods that are at the cutting EDGE. of our time. You have chosen these 3 as The Top in each of your reports!!! Thanks !! To You & Joe for Salt Strong

Mark
6 months ago

I read the negative feedback and was really surprised . I have 4 of their rods a black widow, a delta spinning rod and a casting for swimbaits and the Crank bait. They have called me with reply’s and even with advice for my order. On the water they are amazing in feel and the weight is stunningly light. With the holiday special I plan to order another just because. I have three friends that also bought on my recommendation and the rods came quickly and in one case the guy bought 2 more since he was a Kistler fan and realized they made his blanks.

Anonymous
Anonymous
7 months ago

Don’t order from EDGE or Gary Loomis! I have waited 9 months for my rod – no response from the company but they took my money immediately. I just filed a claim with the Better Business Bureau – mine is one of many. They don’t deliver, they don’t respond and they don’t answer phones or email PLUS there are numerous BBB claims the rods are garbage. It’s all public information, visit the BBB to see they’ve given North Fork Composites (That is who make the G Loomis rods) and “F” grade.

Thomas Campbell
10 months ago

Now that you have tested bull bay sniper, toadfish and Cajun rods. Disregard price and just off of performance alone. Witch would you go with?

Stefan Still
4 months ago

I’d suggest against Bull Bay. I loved my Sniper. It was one of the best rods I’ve ever used. The one day it snapped in half while casting under docks. Just a clean break in the weave. I followed BB’s warranty instructions and still haven’t received a call as of a month later. No one picks up at the number on the site.

Real shame considering I was trying to keep the money in Florida and the rod was amazing up until it snapped.

Philip
10 months ago

Please don’t recommend this place….had an order in for over five months. Currently trying to get my money back. I was told by email twice that the rod I ordered was in the “build process”; once on May 31st and then again on July 24th. Cancelled on 03 September. If they do answer emails it is all lies and delays that they will give you.

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 year ago

I’ve also tried emailing a couple of time and called the number listed on their site for sales. I got a full mailbox and was not able to leave a message. Almost seems like they’ve folded.

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 year ago

Read the hundreds of complaints on any fishing site before you think about ordering…………..

Marko Rodriguez
1 year ago

Received the 7341 medium after 8 weeks. Haven’t fished it yet but it definitely doesn’t feel right. So far I’m extremely disappointed.

There is no foregrip, only a steel ring nut that will chip the paint off your reel.

There is not enough space to fit your hands comfortably above the reel because the hook holder is in the way and no choice but to wrap your hand over threading and the ring nut holding the reel.

The reel seat sits very low, making the rod top heavy – not sure if this is intentional.

There is no one answering calls nor emails. I seriously think they are having issues.

I’m really left with no choice but to replace the entire reel seat and grips myself.

After all said and done its probably better to buy the blank and build yourself or get a nrx or something else. Save yourself the hassle.

Marko Rodriguez
1 year ago
Reply to  Luke Simonds

Thx Luke. Hopefully they get back on track. I’m a big fan of gloomis rods, and even the edge blank feels good. Just wish they would have done better on the foregrip/handle.

Frank Huang
1 year ago

very rude and arrogant people, as if they are the customers. They behaved no different from: I will take your money and run, and I will see if I can take it without giving you something if I can, or something not as good as I have promised.

Bob P
1 year ago

How does one contact Edge Rods?
They don’t reply to email or pick up the phone.

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 year ago
Reply to  Bob P

1-877-746-3343 They answer every time I call. They are poor at answering email. Best rod I have ever fished with! Just ordered two more blanks today

Joe Zona
Joe Zona
1 year ago

Hey. The inshore rods are a little less than the bass rods. Do you prefer the MB series for any reason for salt water fishing?

Michael Pritchard
1 year ago
Reply to  Joe Zona

I got a Medium 7’ inshore spinning Edge rod and I don’t know if it was a mistake, or if they mislabeled it on their website, but it doesn’t have a top grip. It’s just a nut like it shows for the casting models. The rod is nice but I don’t like no grip above the reel so the bass rod is most likely the way to go.
Also, the edge rods on their website are always HALF OFF MSRP and free shipping! So that is a great deal. I wouldn’t buy one in a store knowing it’s several hundred dollars off.

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 year ago

Good info. Thanks for the reply.

Marko Rodriguez
1 year ago

I got the same thing. If you compare with the video Luke made, you can see his has the carbon foregrip. Something is going on with edgerods shop.

RICHARD FIORENTINO
2 years ago

Luke – thanks for review. Do you think the Edge is worth the price difference versus the TFO for the average inshore use?

Samcraparo
2 years ago

Out of my price range. Will stick with with my classic Pfleuger casting rod with my Revo gen 3 inshore. Always enjoy your vedios thanks again

Steve Barrington
2 years ago

At some point a person quits paying for action/features and starts paying for prestige/name. Lost me at this one. Thank you for the review anyway.