Edge Spinning Rod Review [Top Pros & Cons]

http://edge%20rod%20review

Edge Spinning Rod Review

After seeing these Edge rodes at ICAST last year, I was determined to add one to my arsenal because it looked and felt so nice.

So I finally got one and have had a chance to get out on the water to see how it compares to the other rods that I’ve used and tested (see other fishing rod reviews).

This post describes the top pros and cons I have found for the Edge rod that I have been testing out for the past couple months.

Edge Spinning Rod Review Video

We’ll start off with this video explaining the top pros and cons of this high-quality rod from Edge.

Just click on the box below to watch the new rod review video:

Sign up for FREE to receive the latest saltwater fishing videos, tutorials, product reviews, and fishing product discounts!

Learn more about the Insider Fishing Club

Edge Rod Review: Pros

Here are the top pros that I have noticed so far after using my Edge rod on multiple trips targeting redfish, snook, and seatrout:

  1. Extremely Good Feel – Everything about these rods are focused on a high-performance feel
  2. Very lightweight – Gary stripped these rods of all unnecessary weight, so they are very light relative to other rods with similar power
  3. Easy Hookset Response – Given the fast action and strong lightweight rod blank, the hookset ratio with this rod has been very high even when using big soft plastic lures that are rigged weedless
  4. Made in the USA – It is always nice to see Made in the USA on our fishing products

Note: We’d love to hear your thoughts on your Edge rod, so please leave a Comment down below to share your experiences with these rods.

Edge Rod Review: Cons

Here are the top cons of the Edge rods that I have noticed so far:

  1. Price – These rods are typically priced in the high $300s to high $400s depending on the exact model chosen
  2. Power Rating Scale – The power rating on these rods is different than many others making it tough for angler who typically have their power preference and stick with it
    • If you generally prefer MH rods, then you’ll probably prefer the Medium power level from Edge best
  3. Tough To Find – These rods are difficult to find in local retailers because they are a relatively new company (the only place I’ve been able to find them is Southeastern Tackle here in Tampa)

Note: We’d love to hear your thoughts on your Edge rod, so please leave a Comment down below to share your experiences with these rods.

Edge Spinning Rod Specs

There are many options to choose from in the Edge line of rods (see their Inshore options here).

Here are the specs on the model that I have:

  • Model #: MBR 735-1
  • Action: Fast
  • Power: Medium Heavy
  • Length: 7ft 3in
  • Line Strength: 14-20 lb
  • Lure Weight: 1/4 – 3/4 oz

Conclusion

For those of us who enjoy fishing with premium fishing rods, these Edge rods are definitely worth a close look given how responsive these rods are.

All of the components in this rod are all focused on enabling maximized feel of everything that is going on the business end of the line.

The only two cons that I could think of were:

  • The high price that these premium rods sell for in stores.
  • Their power ratings are undervalued relative to most other rods making cross-brand comparisons more difficult.

If you have used any of the Edge rods, please let us know your thoughts about these rods in the Comment section below.

[Click here to see more rod reviews]

Do YOU Want New Fishing Spots In Your Area?

Then you’ve got to see this private fishing club!

Here’s what you’ll receive today:

  • Weekly fishing reports and TRENDS revealing where the inshore fish are feeding all year long
  • Weekly “spot dissection” videos that walk you through all the best spots in certain areas
  • Exclusive fishing tips from the PROS you can’t find anywhere else
  • Everything you need to start catching fish more consistently (regardless if you fish out of a boat, kayak, or land).

Click here to join today.

Related categories:

Subscribe
Notify of
guest

53 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Fern Eckenberg
4 months ago

Best Rods on the Planet period!!!! Once you use an Edge Rod that’s all you will ever use again! They are light, extremely sensitive, durable, and Dam good looking got one Five years ago, now I have Ten of these fish Slaying Rods.

AK Fisher
10 months ago

I bought a new 9’ 9wt Edge fly rod to replace my old GLoomis. Loved the feel, looks, materials and name associated with the rod.
I took the rod out to the River for its first use and it broke on the 9th fish of the day. Yes, I know how to fish and I’ve never broken a rod in all my years fishing here in Alaska, I know how to treat a good rod. Edge wants me to pay to fix it. A little worried this is what I’m to expect from these rods… Thinking I shoulda stuck with the “Shimano” GLoomis NRX… I expected a lot more from Gary’s good name.
If your looking to gamble on an Edge, I’d suggest to go bigger than what you’d think you’d need or go with a different company. The 9 wt is already plenty of rod for the species of fish I use it for, so this rod should have never broke on my intended use.
Hope this helps someone’s future investment.

Last edited 10 months ago by AK Fisher
Tom
11 months ago

The rods might be great but the company is garbage. I ordered a few rods from them in January 2023 and I’m writing this in mid-June 2023 and still don’t have the rods. I’ve contacted their “customer service” ever other week for the last two months and have been given the runaround; “it’s in process, it’s in build right now, it should only be another 2-weeks”… I finally spoke with the owner of the company and he basically told me to F-off. I finally got my money back and was super disappointed because I’ve read reviews like this and others, who say the rods are great but I went back to G. Loomis for my NRX+ fly rod, had to pay double, but very happy with it.

Tamara
7 months ago
Reply to  Tom

My husband feels your pain. He ordered his In April and received it yesterday only because he upgraded to a piece they had in stock. Otherwise, he would be waiting another month. He will never order from there again.

Jeff t Yosel
4 months ago
Reply to  Tamara

A very unprofessional company. Most reputable companies don’t charge you until they fill the order. They charge for products that they know won’t be sent for weeks if not, and more likely months. They have no appreciation for a customers who spends $300 to $500 for a rod. I ordered 4 rod, received 3, and canceled one. Didn’t want to wait 8 weeks. They said it would take 14 to 21 days to post a refund. They offer no apologies, not once did i see the word “sorry” in any of their responses to my inquiries. The rod are good, don’t like the handles, prefer cork. Loved the idea of buying American. I really wish they were a better ran company.

Anthony mccue
11 months ago

Once you buy one of these rods you will not regret it. The weight and power of edge rods are uncompairable to any rods I’ve owned. Best 200 dollar rod there is.

Chuck
5 months ago
Reply to  Anthony mccue

I have two edge rods and that’s all for me. Not that sensitive and a little on the heavy side. The woven grip looks great but gets slippery. They could go to a cork grip and put the extra money in a better blank. There is a very cheap rod; (all star)($40.00), that feels better and more sensitive. St Croix Victory rod is hands down better and customer service is super. Everyone had an opinion, that’s why there are 100’s of rod builders.

Christopher M. Blessing
1 year ago

I HAVE AN EDGE 8’6″ ULTRALIGHT ROD AND AS FAR AS IM CONCERNED THEY ARE HANDS DOWN THE BEST ROD I’VE EVER USED PERIOD! THAT’S SAYING A LOT SINCE I HAVE ABOUT 10 DIFFERENT G LOOMIS RODS OF VARIOUS ACTIONS! I ORDERED MY ROD ABOUT 2 YRS. AGO AND RECIEVED IT IN ABOUT A WEEK! I THINK THE REASON FOR MOST PEOPLE WAITING MONTHS TO GET THEIR RODS IS THEY CAN’T MAKE THEM FAST ENOUGH AND ALSO THE PENDEMICK! I WILL BE ORDERING MORE EDGE RODS IN THE FUTURE!

John Kalinowski
2 years ago

i now have 5 edge rods and love them. i have never waited more than a week for a rod and the only thing they have messed up was a shirt i ordered. xl instead of 2xl…i feel like there rating for action and weight are in line with other Oregon and Washington manufacturers specs (Lamiglas, g Loomis and Rogue)… maybe its a west coast thing. i have actions and weights ranging from UL Slow (kokanee) to med heavy Fast (Steelhead) and all seem right on to me. price wise edge are cheaper than USA made g loomis and Lamiglas.

Stan
2 years ago

i have a medium power edge spinning rod and really like it. Its very light, sensitive and has a good backbone. Here are my thoughts of the company. Their prices are good since they sell direct. When ordering a rod, first call and make sure they have the rod you want in stock, that eliminates the long waits. I got mine in a week. As far as the reviewer says on the power ratings it is true mine is a little stiffer than most medium power rods but that is what a wanted. You cant just look at the power rating also look at the recommended line ratings.

Last edited 2 years ago by Stan
Tam
2 years ago

I own 5 edge rods, from salmon, to walleye, to their pelegics rods. Great performing rods. They make small batch orders and if yours is last in queue then it can take a couple months. I usually always get the rods I ordered and they always answer my calls. Great company to deal with and great products.

Rex
2 years ago

Last one😂 Graphite handles, cork and cheap Eva rubber are insulaters, graphite is a conductor. It’s like a train hit your line👍🏼 I’m in Oklahoma, not affiliated, just have used loomis and some good rods. If Gary built it it’s the best. If you build, his blank company is North Fork Composites , Woodland Washington.

Rex
2 years ago

Three to five weeks for order, I ordered all winter! Big thing too, when covid hit everyone that was waiting on Megabass and others, waited longer then me😂 USA components and materials didn’t have to come from China and overseas 👍🏼 They are caught up on some models, and stock a few. Get the net😜

STOP WASTING TIME ON THE WATER!

Do what the “SMART ANGLERS” are doing and join the Insider Club.

Here’s what you’ll receive today when you join:

Other Fishing Tips You May Like :

How To Transport Fishing Rods In A Truck (So They Don’t Get Damaged)

Do you have a truck? Do you go fishing? Here's a simple little hack that can help you keep your rods and reels from getting damaged in the bed.
See Full post
13 comments

How To Catch Black Drum Using Sand Fleas [VIDEO]

Want to see the exact steps to catch consistent inshore black drum using sand fleas? Then check out this new video tutorial. Enjoy.
See Full post
22 comments
14
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x

Get Instant Access To “The Inshore Fishing Manifesto” PDF Now

You’ll automatically be emailed a private link to download your PDF, plus you’ll be added to the Salt Strong Newsletter.
(Please double-check your email below to ensure delivery.)