Edge Spinning Rod Review [Top Pros & Cons]

http://edge%20rod%20review

Edge Spinning Rod Review

After seeing these Edge rodes at ICAST last year, I was determined to add one to my arsenal because it looked and felt so nice.

So I finally got one and have had a chance to get out on the water to see how it compares to the other rods that I’ve used and tested (see other fishing rod reviews).

This post describes the top pros and cons I have found for the Edge rod that I have been testing out for the past couple months.

Edge Spinning Rod Review Video

We’ll start off with this video explaining the top pros and cons of this high-quality rod from Edge.

Just click on the box below to watch the new rod review video:

Sign up for FREE to receive the latest saltwater fishing videos, tutorials, product reviews, and fishing product discounts!

Learn more about the Insider Fishing Club

Edge Rod Review: Pros

Here are the top pros that I have noticed so far after using my Edge rod on multiple trips targeting redfish, snook, and seatrout:

  1. Extremely Good Feel – Everything about these rods are focused on a high-performance feel
  2. Very lightweight – Gary stripped these rods of all unnecessary weight, so they are very light relative to other rods with similar power
  3. Easy Hookset Response – Given the fast action and strong lightweight rod blank, the hookset ratio with this rod has been very high even when using big soft plastic lures that are rigged weedless
  4. Made in the USA – It is always nice to see Made in the USA on our fishing products

Note: We’d love to hear your thoughts on your Edge rod, so please leave a Comment down below to share your experiences with these rods.

Edge Rod Review: Cons

Here are the top cons of the Edge rods that I have noticed so far:

  1. Price – These rods are typically priced in the high $300s to high $400s depending on the exact model chosen
  2. Power Rating Scale – The power rating on these rods is different than many others making it tough for angler who typically have their power preference and stick with it
    • If you generally prefer MH rods, then you’ll probably prefer the Medium power level from Edge best
  3. Tough To Find – These rods are difficult to find in local retailers because they are a relatively new company (the only place I’ve been able to find them is Southeastern Tackle here in Tampa)

Note: We’d love to hear your thoughts on your Edge rod, so please leave a Comment down below to share your experiences with these rods.

Edge Spinning Rod Specs

There are many options to choose from in the Edge line of rods (see their Inshore options here).

Here are the specs on the model that I have:

  • Model #: MBR 735-1
  • Action: Fast
  • Power: Medium Heavy
  • Length: 7ft 3in
  • Line Strength: 14-20 lb
  • Lure Weight: 1/4 – 3/4 oz

Conclusion

For those of us who enjoy fishing with premium fishing rods, these Edge rods are definitely worth a close look given how responsive these rods are.

All of the components in this rod are all focused on enabling maximized feel of everything that is going on the business end of the line.

The only two cons that I could think of were:

  • The high price that these premium rods sell for in stores.
  • Their power ratings are undervalued relative to most other rods making cross-brand comparisons more difficult.

If you have used any of the Edge rods, please let us know your thoughts about these rods in the Comment section below.

[Click here to see more rod reviews]

Do YOU Want New Fishing Spots In Your Area?

Then you’ve got to see this private fishing club!

Here’s what you’ll receive today:

  • Weekly fishing reports and TRENDS revealing where the inshore fish are feeding all year long
  • Weekly “spot dissection” videos that walk you through all the best spots in certain areas
  • Exclusive fishing tips from the PROS you can’t find anywhere else
  • Everything you need to start catching fish more consistently (regardless if you fish out of a boat, kayak, or land).

Click here to join today.

Related categories:

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
38 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
jacob
5 months ago

the rods are great. but the negative comments are true. The manager called me to offer me a free rod because he knew they did me wrong, but the rod never came

Spencer
8 months ago

What the author said is true. I read tons of complaints that customers have and couldn’t reach Edge customer service regarding their orders. I bought mine from Motackle Australia. Since I am here, I would like to share with you guys that I own the Black Widow Spinning rod DSR6100 and the Silver Widow SJR 723; both at 4-10lb. Despite whatever you guys read, I honestly tell u that the Black Widow is far more superior in feel and it feels so much better to work with.

Anonymous
8 months ago

I’m interested in buying one of these Edege surf rod for stripers.
Do you know what are the weight on these rods? The actual weight it died not castOmg weight.
Thank you and have a great day.

John
6 months ago
Reply to  Anonymous

I own one of the surf rods. I bought the 1164 spin model which is a ML 1/2 oz-3 oz. Don’t know what the actual weight of the rod is (I never put it on a scale to weigh it), but even if it’s an 11′ 6″ rod, it does feel lighter than my 11′ St Croix avid surf MH rod. I do like it a lot more. I wish they had more options on surf rods. I’m looking for a more moderate or slow action rod to add to my lineup. BTW, it took about 2 weeks for me to receive my rod.

Carlos Vargas
6 months ago
Reply to  Anonymous

The only cons i find when i bought mine was the waiting time. The rod came safe, they use thick cardboard tube that is fantastic in my case i live in Colombia, South america and the rod travelled many miles without any issue. I compare the First strike model i purchased with my St croix and G loomis, and this is lighter and feels and performs very nice.

Mark
10 months ago

I bought one because of the G Lommis name. After fishing it on a 3 day trip I bought 2 more for different bass techniques, They go with a TFO and a G Lommis I use for bass. I also ended up with 3 Spinning Rods. They’re great.

I don’t agree with some of the negative posts, true some of the rods took awhile to get here but no complaints with the product and Steve from Edge called me to question the order and help me make the right choice. My brother is a Kistler fan and we used to argue about the Lommis and Kistler now we know we both love the blanks and both fish mainly Lommis products. Order direct from Edge for the best deals and friend them on Facebook for the specials.

Carlos Vargas
9 months ago
Reply to  Mark

Hi Mark, thanks for your comments. How long did you wait for the rod to arrive?

Carlos Vargas
6 months ago
Reply to  Carlos Vargas

I had to wait about 6 Weeks for my rod to arrive. The wait is worth. The rod is very lightweight and cast a mile. The rod looks killer with the braid carbon fiber hande. I am very pleased. The reel seat is a kind of extrange but once the metal ring is adjusted, the reel feels secure and tight. I definitively recommend this product.

Joe
1 year ago

Got my rods last one just shipped ordered with the x-mas special. O there great just remember you can’t rush an artist. Be patient

CSC
1 year ago

Let the buyer beware, as they say. You are risking your money and your time if you order a rod from this company; you may get a quality rod within a reasonable period of time, but you may not, which was my experience. The complaints are numerous so I won’t bore you with mine, except to say this business should be out of business.

Antonio Garcia Jr
1 year ago

G Loomis Inc. A subsidiary of Shimano of America ,TFO Temple Forks Outfitters Where Rods were Designed by Gary Loomis. And now is The Person Behind Edge .Has A insight of developing Rods that are at the cutting EDGE. of our time. You have chosen these 3 as The Top in each of your reports!!! Thanks !! To You & Joe for Salt Strong

Mark
1 year ago

I read the negative feedback and was really surprised . I have 4 of their rods a black widow, a delta spinning rod and a casting for swimbaits and the Crank bait. They have called me with reply’s and even with advice for my order. On the water they are amazing in feel and the weight is stunningly light. With the holiday special I plan to order another just because. I have three friends that also bought on my recommendation and the rods came quickly and in one case the guy bought 2 more since he was a Kistler fan and realized they made his blanks.

Anonymous
1 year ago

Don’t order from EDGE or Gary Loomis! I have waited 9 months for my rod – no response from the company but they took my money immediately. I just filed a claim with the Better Business Bureau – mine is one of many. They don’t deliver, they don’t respond and they don’t answer phones or email PLUS there are numerous BBB claims the rods are garbage. It’s all public information, visit the BBB to see they’ve given North Fork Composites (That is who make the G Loomis rods) and “F” grade.

Thomas Campbell
1 year ago

Now that you have tested bull bay sniper, toadfish and Cajun rods. Disregard price and just off of performance alone. Witch would you go with?

Stefan Still
1 year ago

I’d suggest against Bull Bay. I loved my Sniper. It was one of the best rods I’ve ever used. The one day it snapped in half while casting under docks. Just a clean break in the weave. I followed BB’s warranty instructions and still haven’t received a call as of a month later. No one picks up at the number on the site.

Real shame considering I was trying to keep the money in Florida and the rod was amazing up until it snapped.

STOP WASTING TIME ON THE WATER!

Do what the “SMART ANGLERS” are doing and join the Insider Club.

Here’s what you’ll receive today when you join:

Other Fishing Tips You May Like :

BEST Time To Use Blue Crab (For Redfish, Snook, Tarpon & Black Drum)

Want to know when the best times to use blue crab are? In this video we'll identify the best times, why they're the best times, and which types of...
See Full post
13 comments

How To Use Topwater Lures To Catch Redfish & Trout

Want to catch more redfish and trout on topwater? Learn everything you need to know about topwater lures here, including how redfish and trout like to...
See Full post
27 comments
38
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x

THE #1 REDFISH
LURE IN THE WORLD?