Star Seagis Spinning Rod Review [Pros & Cons Video]

Star Seagis Spinning Rod Review

This Star Seagis spinning rod review video will help you make an educated decision about this rod being a good fit or not for your particular fishing needs.

You’ll learn about the pros and the cons of this popular spinning rod for saltwater anglers.

This Seagis rod was recommended by several members, so I decided to get one on a tackle shopping spree a few months ago to test out.

After spending some quality time on the water with it, I decided to make the video below to share my initial thoughts about this rod.

And if you have any experience with Star Seagis rods (good or bad), please leave a comment down below to share your thoughts with the group.

Star Seagis Rod Review

This video below explains the pros and cons that I’ve noticed from using this Star rod for the past few months.

Just click the link below to watch the video:

Sign up for FREE to receive the latest saltwater fishing videos, tutorials, product reviews, and fishing product discounts!

[See More Fishing Rod Reviews]

Star Seagis Rod Specs

Star makes a very large amount of rods so they have a TON of options to choose from.

After checking a group of them out at Bass Pro Shops, I decided that the 7’6″ HE17 version felt best for my preferences.

Here are the details:

  • Length: 7’6″
  • Line Rating: 8 lbs – 17 lbs
  • Lure Rating: 1/4th oz to 3/4 oz
  • SKU: SK817FT76G

Note: This one in particular had a split-grip handle… click here to see the details of it in Amazon.

Star Seagis Rod Pros & Cons

Here’s a quick list of pros and cons that I’ve noticed so far after using this spinning rod to fish the flats for redfish, snook, and seatrout.

Star Seagis Pros:

  • Very lightweight (great for lots of casting)
  • Solid power and flex
  • Comfortable handle

Star Seagis Cons:

  • Butt section is a bit too long (tough for kayak fishing)
  • Less length in the top section for casting for a typical 7’6″ rod
  • Fairly expensive (over $150)

[See More Fishing Rod Reviews]

Conclusion

This Star Seagis spinning rod is a quality lightweight rod that has great feel and power for targeting redfish, snook, seatrout, etc.

It can cast a mile while also helping you feel even the lightest of strikes when paired with light braid fishing line (I used 10 lb PowerPro).

And the power level is great for handling redfish, snook, and seatrout of all sizes.

The main con I found is that its reel seat is higher up on the rod that what I’m used to fishing with, so it was getting in the way at times.

And it did not let me cast quite as far as some other 7’6″ rods that I use which have their reel seats further down allowing for more length on the casting section of the rod.

Please let us know your thoughts (good or bad) about any of the rods in the Star Seagis family of rods if you have used them. This way, we all can learn from one another.

Fish On!

[See More Fishing Rod Reviews]

 

Related categories:

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
28 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Steven Smiley
1 year ago

Light, powerful, sensitive, casts artificial a mile. I have caught 45 + inch redfish, 27 inch kings, and false albacore till my arms were tired. Best rod for the money and a amazing warranty. I have never had a problem with the butt section of the rod being too long don’t know why people are complaining about it, it actually helps me sling a lure farther. The only problem I have ever had was the tightening portion of the reel seat gets loose occasionally.

Robert Keubler
2 years ago

Totally agree the butt is too long on the Seagis. Also find the forward cork at the reel seat to be too small as I hold there when using a popping cork. Snapped 4 inches off the tip reaching for the gunnel ( and catching the rod against it ) while in the process of falling out of my boat. Love the rod just the same even though I broke it before it could catch a fish.

Tim
2 years ago

I have looked at this rod for some time to pair with my Stradic fl 3k.. After lots of testing I chose to step up one level to the Plasma II Inshore.. It has a slightly shorter handle.. Its only 1/2-3/4 less but it makes a difference.. It also seems to have a slightly better action.. 7’6″ MHF. Before this, the St Croix Avid Inshore was my goto. This rod IMO is a step up.. From hardware to performance but for less $$.. Win Win.

Looking to try out Bull Bay soon..

Anyways if you get a chance to try out the plasma II version I think you will be impressed.

Sean Rutan
2 years ago

I have a Seagis 7ft med fast. My go to is a custom H&H rod out of Texas. The butt end on the Star rod is only about an inch longer. The H&H will outcast it all day light or heavy tackle with 10lb braid. I think it might be do to the eyelets. The H&H has 7 and the Star has 9 and considerably smaller. Never tried a 7’ 6” but that will be my next investment.

Dale Fluty
2 years ago

I have had a couple of these rods and they are very good,light and plenty of back bone. For me they are not as fast or as sensitive or as light as my Cajun Alted(by far my favorite inshore rod). My wife uses the Star rod and loves it but has also complained about the but being a little long. The Seagus will save you a hundred bucks over the Cajun

Chuck
2 years ago

I think Star is trying to pull off a magic trick in making the rod feel lighter than it is by having such a long butt section. I used to have a 7′ 8-17 that just needed a flick to send light lures some distance but the butt would get in the way when working the rod. I still have a 7′ 6-14 that is my favorite rig right now paired with a 2500 Ci4+fb and 10# pp that spends 90% of its time throwing unweighted flukes a mile with the strength to pull fish through cover (most of the time, lol.)

Thomas Campbell
3 years ago

Hey Luke awesome review. I’m a big fan of star rods. I have a seagis rod and Ariel surf rod. I was looking into the VPR series rods they have and I must say that it is the best feeling and most high quality rod I have felt. Although I will say I haven’t checked out a tfo yet so that might change. If you get a chance check out a VPR inshore I doubt you will be disappointed. Tight lines man

Dixon Allen
3 years ago

Big Star Seagis fan. I have some that still have the U.S. flag on them near the front grip, on the rod. I can’t tell if quality changed when they moved manufacturing to China. But it’s just the thought lol. I had a star seagis that the butt got broken off…long story and I added I think it’s called I think an

adjust-a-butt(?)handle on it and its now great for kayak fishing lol! I do agree about the rear length though. But I primarily fish from my boat these days. And I did get a chance to check out that warranty with a broken tip and there where no questions asked ( Bass Pro Shop, Daytona beach). Besides my custom rods, Sewell rods, the seagis is my favorite rod. I recently purchased a penn clash 2500 and put it on a 7’6″ seagis, I think 6-12lbs braid or something similar. 10lb sufix 832 and it’s a blast catching bull reds on it, well catching anything on it is a blast! All in all, a really good fishing rod!
Great review you gave. Thtank you! Fish on!

Jeff DeVille
4 years ago

I would like to comment on the butt section of rods. A longer butt section actually enables you to make longer casts as it gives you more leverage.
Example: try to make a cast with your hands touching one hand below the other as if you were holding a bat. You have practically no leverage.
No one I know casts a rod as if they were hitting a baseball.
Like anything else, make adjustments to the handle and you will get the maximum benefit of the design of the rod.

Alex Ruiz
4 years ago

Full disclosure, I am a huge Star Fishing Tackle (Star Rods) fan. I feel this is a fair analysis; however, I believe there is one additional thing to consider when purchasing this brand of rod. The longer butt to reel seat (for me) can provide a significant amount of leverage (think of it as a fulcrum; hand near reel and butt of rod under armpit) when fighting bigger fish. I do have other rods and agree they may be better suited for kayaking due to shorter butt to reel seat distance; however, I feel as if I don’t have the same amount of torque when leveraging stronger fish. Also, I fish primarily artificial and positioning my rod in the same ‘fulcrum’ position enables me to retrieve lures all day; which uses less energy and I don’t have to grip my fishing rod during retrieve when not in this position. And of course, their lifetime replacement warranty (for Stellar and higher and you must keep receipt; to my knowledge) is excellent piece of mind…especially when fishing with some of my noob friends and they happen to break my rod (has happened several times…but unfortunately they break my non-Star Rods instead with no warranty). Sorry so lengthy, just wanted to chime in.

STOP WASTING TIME ON THE WATER!

Do what the “SMART ANGLERS” are doing and join the Insider Club.

Here’s what you’ll receive today when you join:

Other Fishing Tips You May Like :

The Salty Scales Story (With Capt. Joshua Taylor)

What an awesome story! From unfilfilled corporate grinder to becoming the founder of a fishing apparel company, Capt. Joshua Taylor has...
See Full post
9 comments

Shrimp VS. Mullet (What’s The Best Bait For Each Inshore Species?)

Shrimp VS Mullet. Which is better? Which is the best bait for each species of inshore saltwater fish? Find out more here!!...
See Full post
29 comments
13
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x

Get Instant Access To “The Inshore Fishing Manifesto” PDF Now

You’ll automatically be emailed a private link to download your PDF, plus you’ll be added to the Salt Strong Newsletter.
(Please double-check your email below to ensure delivery.)