Z-Man DieZel MinnowZ [Review, Underwater Footage & Rigging Tips]

http://Z-Man%20DieZel%20MinnowZ

Z-Man DieZel MinnowZ

The Z-Man DieZel MinnowZ is a paddletail lure that can be used for both shallow water fishing in addition to covering some deep zones if rigged properly.

You can rig it both weedless and on a jig head, and you’ll see exactly how to rig this bait on both applications in a video below.

In this article, I give you my full review explaining the top pros and cons of the Z-Man DieZel MinnowZ.

And you’ll see some cool underwater footage showing the fish’s point of view in the video review in this article.

Note: We are not affiliated with any fishing product companies. If you’ve used this lure, let us know what you thought of it in the comments section. We love to hear your honest feedback on any products we review!

The Z-Man DieZel MinnowZ Specs

Z-Man DieZel MinnowZ underwater

Here are the specs to the Z-Man DieZel MinnowZ:

  • Length: 4 inches
  • Lures per pack: 5
  • Price: $4.49

Z-Man suggests that you pair this lure with the Redfish Eye jigheads, 4/0 HeadlockZ HD jigheads, and 4/0 EZ KeeperZ weighted hooks.

Learn more about the Insider Fishing Club

Z-Man DieZel MinnowZ Video Review

In this video, I give you my full review of the Z-Man DieZel MinnowZ. I also show you how fish see this lure with an underwater fish point of view demo of the lure on a weedless hook and a jig head.

Sign up for FREE to receive the latest saltwater fishing videos, tutorials, product reviews, and fishing product discounts!

Learn more about the Insider Fishing Club

Z-Man DieZel MinnowZ Rigging Tutorial Video

In this video, I show you how to rig the Z-Man DieZel MinnowZ and give you my top tips for rigging this lure.

Sign up for FREE to receive the latest saltwater fishing videos, tutorials, product reviews, and fishing product discounts!

Learn more about the Insider Fishing Club

Conclusion

Z-Man DieZel MinnowZ on jig head

This is a durable and tough lure that is good for catching redfish, trout, snook and basically any other inshore species.

I like it for shallow water fishing and have had success using it.

While it is not perfect, it is a good choice when looking for paddletail lures.

Remember, we are not affiliated with any fishing lure companies. All our reviews are objective and independent.

If you have any questions about this lure or how to rig it, let us know in the comments!

Tight Lines!

Related Post: 

1. Mustad Grip Pin Hook Review [Top Pros, Cons & Rigging Video]

2. Slayer SST vs. DOA CAL Shad Review [Rigging Tips & Underwater Demo]

3. The Best Weighted Hook For Fishing Soft Plastics In Shallow Water [Club Review]

Do You Want To Quickly Find New Fishing Spots In Your Area?

Then you’ve got to see this private fishing club!

Here’s what you’ll receive today:

  • Weekly fishing reports and TRENDS revealing where the inshore fish are feeding all year long
  • Weekly “spot dissection” videos that walk you through all the best spots in certain areas
  • Exclusive fishing tips from the PROS you can’t find anywhere else
  • Everything you need to start catching fish more consistently (regardless if you fish out of a boat, kayak, or land).

Click here to join today.

Related categories:

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
24 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Anonymous
Anonymous
1 year ago

Thanks for your tips on rigging the Zman lures. I personally fish the beach off of Honeymoon Island State Park and have had some luck catching trout and snook. I have gotten use to rigging the Zman pearl color on a Rockport Ratteling Jig ( varirous colors). My question is how do you rig that jig with a Zman lure. It seems to take me forever to get that lure past the b b cilender on the jig. Don’t get me wrong your tip on pulling the Zman over the balb will help but man does it take time to change the swimming lure.Tight lines????????????????????????

TOBY SORRELS
Member
TOBY SORRELS
1 year ago

Luke, thanks so much for this excellent video! You are a terrific teacher and it is remarkable how you and the team get the vital content in such concise videos. I found the video with the view behind the lure as it swims to be especially instructive for lure presentation. I’ve never seen a video on a lure from that perspective. Lure manufacturers will probably learn from this and change their marketing videos! Suggestion: Change the description from “lure view” to “fish’s view.” 🙂 Grateful for you guys! TS, Gainesville, FL.

Tom Watts
Member
Tom Watts
2 years ago

Luke, Great. Thank you very much for the retrieve videos, and great, closeup rigging ideas. Terrific. Thank you, Tom Watts, Naples, Fl.

Stephen Cowart
Member
Stephen Cowart
2 years ago

I love the Zman plastics, only thing I have came across and more than likely it’s just my inexperience showing, these diesel baits don’t work well with a cork screw style hook. Next to impossible to get the corkscrew to catch when trying to thread it on. Which like I said it is probably more operator error than it is product.
Thanks for the video, definitely will be using theses styles over my current corkscrew hooks.
Fish On Fishers!!

Joe Sheaffer
Member
Joe Sheaffer
2 years ago

Luke, the Slayer inc. jigs work really well with Z-man products. Rigging is almost as easy as using regular plastics. One other benefit, because z-man float just a little more than regular plastics, you can use a little heavier jig. This allows the lure better water column coverage when swimming it.

Joe Sheaffer
Joe Sheaffer
2 years ago
Reply to  Luke Simonds

Thanks for the great review Luke, great info.

Phillip Momberg
Member
Phillip Momberg
2 years ago

Really helpful presentation. Thanks from New Zealand

Greg Batchelor
Member
Greg Batchelor
2 years ago

Good Job Luke!

Gary Rankel
Member
Gary Rankel
2 years ago

Good stuff, Luke………I prefer the Minnowz a bit over the diezel, but they’re both great choices.

James Crews
Member
James Crews
2 years ago

I fish the santa rosa sound up in NW florida and we have an issue with dead/floating grass from roughly May – Oct. One trick ive been using as far as rigging (particularly the Diezel Minnowz) is the same as you did weedless, but adding in a 1/16th – 1/4 oz bullet weight at the head of the lure. This allows me to fish deeper water and still retain that weedless advantage. The sinker can be either left free or pegged in place using a bobber stop. Hope this idea helps someone trying to fish deeper water but still stay weedless!

Michael Bard
Member
Michael Bard
2 years ago

The DieZel minnow is one of the best paddle tails out there. I have a tackle bag slap full of them. It’s my go to for trout and snook in 90% of the situations I fish. Z-man hit a home run on this bait.

Richard Fiorentino
Member
Richard Fiorentino
2 years ago

Hey Luke. Nice Video. Would it be a problem to leave the rigged jig head or weighted hook in the Zman for storage? Also, what colors do you advise. Thanks

Steven Free
Member
Steven Free
2 years ago

Oh boy have I got a lure for you to me it’s the best paddle tail out there on the market the new 360 gt coastal paddletail from storm lures to me beats them all the action is nothing short of phenomenal!!! They have 2 sizes a 3 inch one eighth ounce and a 4 inch one quarter ounce in about 10 to 12 colors the tail has a piece of plastic that attaches kind of like a brace does on a shelf that you would put into your house if you take that piece of plastic off it creates more action in the tail its amazing I buy them online from the rapala website they also have a 360 gt searchable that is made for freshwater but to me the tail doesn’t have the action lime the coastal series does you get I believe 3 to a pack with one rigged and the belly has a slot in it for those weighted twistlock hooks if you don’t want to use a jighead about 4.60 a pack average price for a paddletail lure just tried them yesterday and slayed the reds and flounder on an outgoing tide very great lure I use mine as a spinnerbait with a willowleaf gold blade slowly rolled along the bottom next to grass and oyster mounds awesome but the lure your testing is a good lure and z-man is tougher then most everything out there but to me it’s the action that gets there attention and the 360 gt coastal has it like no other anyways thanks for all you do????

James Crews
Member
James Crews
2 years ago
Reply to  Luke Simonds

The Largo Shad is my particular favorite in the 360 Coastal series, ive caught a ton of Trout and Redfish with it in the Santa Rosa Sound. They have a very pronounced tail movement that stands out from other paddletails (and can actually be enhanced further by snipping the under section of the tail). There is also a Mangrove Minnow style thats longer and thinner though i have not had the chance to try those out.
Have to agree with Steven, they are pretty phenomenal.

STOP WASTING TIME ON THE WATER!

Do what the “SMART ANGLERS” are doing and join the Insider Club.

Here’s what you’ll receive today when you join:

  • Weekly fishing reports and TRENDS revealing exactly where you should fish ever trip
  • Weekly “spot dissection” videos that walk you through all the best spots in your area
  • Exclusive fishing tips from the PROS you can’t find anywhere else
  • Everything you need to start catching fish more consistently (regardless if you fish out of a boat, kayak, or land).

Other Fishing Tips You May Like :

How To Catch Red Drum (Redfish) Off Docks & Grass Flats

Want to catch more red drum? In this video, Capt. Mitchell Blake shares two of his favorite spots to catch red drum: grass flats and shorelines. Plus, he...
See Full post
6 comments

Strong Angler Of The Week: Daniel Flores

Talk about getting it dialed in! Daniel Flores and his son, Gabriel, caughts loads of snook and tarpon while preparing for the hurricane and...
See Full post
1 comment
24
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x

The SECRET Redfish, Trout, & Snook Lure That Is Out-Fishing Live Bait

THE #1 REDFISH
LURE IN THE WORLD?

THE #1 REDFISH
LURE IN THE WORLD?

FREE Record-Breaking
Redfish Lure