Cajun Inshore Spinning Rod Review [Top 3 Pros & Cons]

http://cajun%20inshore%20fishing%20spinning%20rod%20review

It’s rod review time!

We’ve been getting a lot of requests for reviews of rods made in the USA, so here it is!

I recently went out and bought a Cajun rod with my own money so I could test it out and do an honest review of it.

I’ve used it a lot these past few months and caught a lot of good fish so that I could give an accurate review.

Want to see what I think?

Check out the video below!

P.S. Since we’re not affiliated with Cajun or any other company, you can be sure this is a completely unbiased review.

Cajun Spinning Rod Review [VIDEO]

Sign up for FREE to receive the latest saltwater fishing videos, tutorials, product reviews, and fishing product discounts!

➡ Click here to join the Salt Strong Insider Club

➡ Click here to see our other fishing rod reviews

Cajun makes several rods, but the one I’ve been using is the Delta series (now called the ATLED series).

It’s a 7’3″ spinning rod with medium-heavy power and fast action, which is generally my favorite combo.

Now, onto the pros and cons.

Cajun Spinning Rod Pros

In the three months I’ve been using this rod, I’ve enjoyed it.

Here are a few of the things I like most about it:

  1. The overall feel is great. It’s lightweight, yet powerful enough for big fish.
  2. It has a nice flex, which allows you to sling lures far.
  3. It’s high quality. The guides and butt system are well made, and the cork is comfortable.

Cajun Spinning Rod Cons

Of course, no product is perfect.

Here are a few of the cons I’ve noticed:

  1. Price. This rod was a little over $200.
  2. The keeper is very close to the butt. I like the type of keeper, but since it’s so close to the butt, my lures rub right up against it when I use it.
  3. Availability. They’re tough to find in stores (I found this one at St. Pete Outfitters), but you can get them online.

Conclusion

cajun spinning rod snook

Overall, this is a solid rod that feels great and has enough power to handle the 41″ snook I caught with it pictured above.

If you want this rod, you can get it at their website below:

Again, we’re not affiliated with Cajun at all (I bought this rod with my own money) but we’ve been getting lots of requests for reviews of rods made in the USA, so here it is.

Have you used this rod?

Do you have any questions about it?

Let me know in the comments below!

And if you know someone who is in the market for a new rod, please TAG or SHARE this with them!

P.S. Want the best local fishing spots, discounts on fishing gear, and to stay up to date with what and where the fish are biting right now? Join us in the Insider Club!

Do You Want To Quickly Find New Fishing Spots In Your Area?

Then you’ve got to see this private fishing club!

Here’s what you’ll receive today:

  • Weekly fishing reports and TRENDS revealing where the inshore fish are feeding all year long
  • Weekly “spot dissection” videos that walk you through all the best spots in certain areas
  • Exclusive fishing tips from the PROS you can’t find anywhere else
  • Everything you need to start catching fish more consistently (regardless if you fish out of a boat, kayak, or land).

Click here to join today.

Related articles:

Related categories:

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
39 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
7914 Cobblefield Lane
2 years ago

I purchased this same Cajun rod about 2 years ago at a fishing show in Houston TX. It is by far my go to rod the tip is very sensitive, l do alot of flounder fishing with it and love the feel of that flounder thump.
The price did make me pause l walked like 3 times around the arena trying to justify the price in my head, in the end I’m glad l made the decision to purchase it.. I REALLY LOVE THIS ROD !!!

Louis Bensinger
2 years ago

Made in America , American wages definitely worth the price

Nathan Durfee
2 years ago

How about doing a review on 13 fishing’s omen green 2

John Whittemore
3 years ago

Purchased a Cajun Atled 7′ 3″ MH. Used it today for the first time and really like it. Much better on redfish than my GLoomis E6X Inshore 7′ 6″ M. But the first guide on the Canjun is too small. It restricts the casting distance. At some point I’ll get it replaced by a larger one. And the hook keeper is a joke but that is very minor. Otherwise love the rod.

Anonymous
3 years ago

Rod review Cajun I have used this brand in a light 7’ and have really liked this rod. Has handled easily my fish. Fast tip gives a great throw. Excellent flex . Agree a little high in price. My favorite rod.

Ken Thayer
3 years ago

Hey Luke. Thanks for this as well as all your reviews. How do you like the Cajun rod versus the G Loomis rod that you have mentioned in other rod reviews?

Sybren D Smith
3 years ago

Hi Luke, thank you for the breakdown of the Cajun. I always wonder what makes an expensive rod worthwhile.

Have you reviewed any Crowder rods yet? They are made locally in Stuart and they seem to be pretty popular along the east coast. I was wondering how they stack up to other US-made rods you have reviewed.

Dale
3 years ago

I have two Cajun rods with shimano stradic 3000:s and love the rods. Fast,very light,strong enough for all in shore fish and I can cast a mile and I have not heard of one being broke by a fish. Can’t say enough about these rods

Steven Carter
3 years ago

Thanks for the review! One thing that is hard to figure out is what someone gets for the extra $ between a $100-150, $150-200 and $200+ rod and whether that difference is distinguishable between the pricepoints. What does this rod have that a $150 rod doesn’t?

I appreciate your pro/con approach. It’s good to see balance in these reviews.

Thanks!

Lionel Sheikboudhou
3 years ago
Reply to  Steven Carter

Hello
I believe the difference In price is more distinguishable within a same brand. For example the difference is obvious when comparing a St Croix Mojo Inshore to an Avid Inshore.
When comparing different brands, it’s a different thing. For exemple, the TFO Luke usually recommends feels much better overall than the Mojo Inshore which is however a bit more expensive than the TFO.
Nevertheless, if you compare the Avid Inshore to the TFO (the difference in price is even higher), at one point you will feel that the more expensive rod is more sensitive (you feel better the bottom with ligh jigs) and feels better overall…
So to put it in a nutshell the more expensive (by a significant factor: 2 or 3 times) the better feeling but each fisherman have to determine the price point at which it feels good enough. A 100$ rod will feel better than a 50$ rod. Some people will be ok at 50$, others at 100$ or even 200$ or 300$.
My price point is 200$ (Avid Inshore quality is my personal standard).
So that I can choose any reel at less than 200$ (Daiwa Fuego ou Stradic FL for instance).
By the way, even if the FL is heavier than the Ci4+, it balances better with 7.6ft rods (equilibrium point is right below the handle of the reel) and is cheaper.

Lionel Sheikboudhou
3 years ago

And…I know my price point is 200$ because I tried until 500$ rods and then realizing that my 200$ rod was adequate for my own expectations

Steven Carter
3 years ago

Thanks so much! Great explanation.

Steven Carter
3 years ago
Reply to  Steven Carter

Edit: those avid inshores are $240-300, guess I’ll wait for a coupon!

Linsey Hurd
2 years ago

I’m thinking about Pulling the trigger on a 7’foot Cajun Rod MedHeavy Fast Action Savannah w/a Shimano 3000 Stradic-FL. When the dealer put the reel on the rod it was way to tip heavy & didn’t feel very balanced in my hand, any suggestions on what I should think about that? i.e. Longer Rod, Different Size Reel? I mostly fish Trout & Redfish in South Louisiana.
PS The Rod he showed me was the newer Split handle style rod what do you think of that style vs Full Handle Rods for the feel, and fighting fish all day? Thanks for Your Response.

Adam Austin
3 years ago

They make these here in Jax. I think Strike Zone tried to sell me one of these. I’m almost sold. I just bought the new Shimano c300xg fl which is a super sweet reel. I have it on cheapo rod from Penn right now. I’m not sure which model they had, but I want to say he was showing me a 6’6″ rod, which helps casting from a kayak.

I will say these are SUPER high quality after having one in my hand. Is the price worth it? I’d say probably, considering something like a G Loomis G6X is ~$200 for the rod alone. Guess I’ll have to buy it and come post some feedback.

Adam Austin
3 years ago
Reply to  Luke Simonds

Sounds like a solid strategy to me. I bought a little more expensive reel because I just had a 2 month old Penn reel seize up on me from kayak fishing. I try to take good care of my reels, but sitting right in the water is harder. I’m pretty bummed what I thought was a decent reel seized up. I went with one that is fully sealed now.

On a boat, I’m sure it’s easier to care for them, but they get roughed up good on a kayak, and are exposed to a lot more salt water when sitting right at water level. Double that when it’s a windy choppy day with 2′ swells and spray.

Due to your advice on casting distance, I’m running only 15 lb test now, I used to run 30. I’ve also downsized to 20lb fluoro leader.

Adam Austin
3 years ago
Reply to  Luke Simonds

Well, I’m a sucker, lol. I bought another Shimano 3000xg FL and bought a Cajun rod at Strike Zone here in Jax. They deal direct with the guy that makes these rods. I bought the Cajun Coastal medium rod fast action 6′ 9″ rod. I’ll have it out tomorrow on a creek somewhere, but it’s going to be cold. Can’t wait to give it a whirl!

Allison
1 year ago
Reply to  Luke Simonds

Luke Simonds , Are you liking that Cajun rod. Which model and specs are you using? I’m considering the Atled Cajun 7″3 MHF ….not completely convinced it’s the best rod out there for that money. USA is a plus. Any thoughts ?
Thank you

STOP WASTING TIME ON THE WATER!

Do what the “SMART ANGLERS” are doing and join the Insider Club.

Here’s what you’ll receive today when you join:

Other Fishing Tips You May Like :

25
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x

Get Instant Access To “The Inshore Fishing Manifesto” PDF Now

You’ll automatically be emailed a private link to download your PDF, plus you’ll be added to the Salt Strong Newsletter.
(Please double-check your email below to ensure delivery.)