The Daiwa Eliminator Spinning Reel Review (Pros, Cons, & Features)

http://Daiwa%20Eliminator%20Reel%20Review

If you like the Daiwa BG series of reels, you may want to take a look at the Eliminator.

This very affordable option is a great all-around saltwater spinning reel!

And good news…we now carry it in our online tackle shop!

Check out the pros and cons in this new review video.

The Daiwa Eliminator Spinning Reel [VIDEO]

Sign up for FREE to receive the latest saltwater fishing videos, tutorials, product reviews, and fishing product discounts!

➡ Click here to join the Insider Club

➡Click here to get the Daiwa Eliminator

Here are the pros, cons, and features of the Daiwa Eliminator series of spinning reels:

Pros:

  • Affordable price at $89.99
  • Anodized Aluminum Frame & Sideplate (offers rigidity for fishing around structure & great for tough use)
  • Air Rotor (reduces weight in the reel)
  • Machined Aluminum Handle
  • DIGIGEAR Main Gear
  • Carbon Fiber Drag System

Cons:

  • Anti-reverse feature (probably not necessary for inshore fishing)
  • Does not have a direct drive handle system (sidecap holds the handle in place instead of connecting directly into the main gear)

Specifications:

  • 5.6:1 Gear Ratio
  • 33.2 inches per turn
  • 5+1 Bearings
  • 13.2Lb Drag
  • Line Capacity 200Yd/10Lb
  • Weight 9.9oz.

This is a great option for a general-purpose, do everything spinning reel.

It’s been around for several years now but just went through some upgrades.

And we will carry the 2500, 3000, and 4000 sizes!

If you have any further questions about the Daiwa Eliminator or need a rod suggestion to pair with this reel, let me know in the comments below!

Get this reel here:

Daiwa Eliminator Spinning Reel

And if you want 20% off of your Daiwa Eliminator, as well as all of the other gear in our shop, click here to join us in the Insider Club.

Related Articles:

Related categories:

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
31 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Ron
25 days ago

Ok thanks for insight Justin.. 😎Ron

Ron
25 days ago

So I recently purchased the pen slammer 3 3500. I want to pair with a great rod that will balance out with the weight of the reel and work well rather using a jig head zman or a with a popping cork etc… A spinning rod which covers different lure presentation with great rod tip action & the back bone in one.. l know you guys at saltstrong are adamant about selecting a good rod quality as the reel. And would it be ok to use 15 pound braid with wind knot issues? Every thing comes down to preference. Thanks, Ron 😎

Rabin
29 days ago

Thanks for the review. I have a 2500 Eliminator and it is indeed a versatile little reel.
I totally agree that the handle system is its weak point.
I actually snapped the little washer inside the sidecap, probably because I forgot to tighten it fully after taking the handle apart for cleaning and fought a tough little trevally with the sidecap not fully screwed tight.
As a consequence I now have to screw the side cap very carefully into a specific position to align the two pieces of the washer. If not, the handle actually has a little play.
But all in all, it’s a great little reel and I’ve caught plenty of fish with it here in Mauritius.
Btw: I paired it with a Daiwa Crossfire medium heavy fast action rod. I feels very stable and balanced.

Randall Phelps
29 days ago

I prefer the anti -reverse option for winding down the terminal tackle for adjustment when on the kayak

Dragon Lewis
29 days ago

That was a great overview of the reel! Anti reverse is mis understood all the time, I get what you’re saying though. The one thing I wanted to know is of the reel is mag sealed? Thanks in advance
Jim

Steven Free
1 month ago

Nah I think I’ll stick to my shimano nascis they are also cheap in price a mention per reel but where money lacks in great amount the quality is much more I personally believe in my view the shimano nasci is probably one if not the best inshore spinning reel on the market diawa has been very disappointing I bought a by 3000 about 4 years ago and after only a few trips with it found out that even after thoughrally rinsing and oiling it it started to become stiff and now is almost totally useless but ever since I switched to the nasci I have had no problems since I have even accidently dropped it in saltwater totally submerging it then after shacking the saltwater out it still performed flawlessly the rest of the day I replaced all 4 of my stradics with the nascis because the drags were gone because of the hundreds of fish caught on them in the 12 years I owned them but the price now on them is ridiculous about 250 per reel then I saw Tony acevedos report on the nasci and bought one and immediately switched and have been flawlessly catching fish with them ever since and before long the nascis will have as many fish caught on them as my stradics did I’m old fashioned and sticks to what works because to me even in this crazy day and age when no one can catch up to technology new doesn’t always mean better enough said😉

Steven Free
1 month ago
Reply to  Steven Free

Stupid phone of mine I ment a bengiman non mention per reel and a bg diawa not by

Matthew Lanier
1 month ago

Solid review Justin!
Great information in here!

Adam Bailey
1 month ago

Hey Justin, thanks for the video about this reel. I checked it out on the tackle page. The description says this reel has felt drag washers but carbon fiber is listed under the features. The Daiwa website also says felt drag washers in this reel. Did you guys get a special edition or something?

Adam Bailey
28 days ago
Reply to  Justin Ritchey

Thanks a lot for all of your clarifications, Justin. I really appreciate your efforts to produce a highly accurate review and to help me understand things much better.

Jonathan Getz
1 month ago

Thanks for the review Justin. Looks good for a boat angler that wants a durable yet inexpensive reel. As an angler that primarily wades and kayaks, I got to have more sealing protection.

Tom W
1 month ago

Which rod would you recommend for the BG 50MQ Diawa Reel

STOP WASTING TIME ON THE WATER!

Do what the “SMART ANGLERS” are doing and join the Insider Club.

Here’s what you’ll receive today when you join:

Other Fishing Tips You May Like :

21
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x

THE #1 REDFISH
LURE IN THE WORLD?