Daiwa Fuego LT Reel Review [Top Pros and Cons Video]

http://Daiwa%20Fuego%20LT%20Reel%20Review

I’ve been using the Daiwa Fuego LT Reel for a few months now after hearing some good things about it from friends.

It’s a fairly new reel on the market and I wanted to see firsthand how this product would perform on the water over time.

Now that I’ve at least used it for a few months, I wanted to share my honest opinion of it with you in hopes that you or others who have used it too could add in your opinions (good or bad) down below in the Comments section.

Here are what I’ve found to be the pros and cons of the Daiwa Fuego LT Reel along the specs on the reel that I have.

Daiwa Fuego LT Reel Specs

specs of the daiwa fuego lt reel

Here are the specs to the Daiwa Fuego LT Reel that I have:

  • Price Range: $79.99-$99.99
  • Series: 3000
  • Weight with 10 lb braid: 8.0 oz
  • Max Drag: 22.0

Pros of the Daiwa Fuego LT Reel

Pros of the Daiwa Fuego LT Reel

I have enjoyed this reel more than other reels in this price range and even bought a second one because of how much I liked the first one. Here are my favorite parts about the Daiwa Fuego LT Reels I have:

1. They Are Lightweight Reels

I love that these reels are lightweight and are lighter than the vast majority of other reels on the market in the same price range. The smaller amount of weight of the reel makes a real difference when I’m throwing a lot of casts with artificial lures searching for fish.

2. Very Smooth and Nice Feel

The reel feels great and effortlessly picks up line without having to put too much force onto the handle. I have had no issues with the reels’ fluidity since using them. The reels have only been used in saltwater and have stayed nice and smooth.

3. High-Quality Drag System

The drag on the Daiwa Fuego LT Reel is excellent. It’s smooth and provides the right amount of pressure you need at each setting. I’ve caught snook, trout, redfish, jacks and more with this reel and it’s held up great against all of them.

Cons of the Daiwa Fuego LT Reel

cons of daiwa fuego lt reel

Just with any other fishing product, there are some cons to the Daiwa Fuego LT Reel. There aren’t many, but the cons I found are listed below:

1. Unknown Longevity

The first con isn’t so much of a con as much as it is an unknown. Because the reel is so new to the market, I’m not personally sure how the reel is going to hold up long-term after many saltwater uses.

While I’ve had absolutely no quality issues with the reel so far, I’ll have to wait and see how long it holds up over time.

2. Line Bunching at Top of Spool

On the second Daiwa Fuego LT Reel I bought, I had an issue with the line bunching up at the top while I was loading it onto the spool.

While this can be fixed easily, it’s something I would usually prefer to be taken care of before I bring it out the box.

Video Review of the Daiwa Fuego LT Reel

Here is my full review of the Daiwa Fuego LT Reel where I go over the full pros and cons of the reel and how I’ve used it.

Check out the full review here:

Sign up for FREE to receive the latest saltwater fishing videos, tutorials, product reviews, and fishing product discounts!

Learn more about the Insider Fishing Club

Conclusion

Although the Daiwa Fuego LT Reel is new and unproven, it has performed extremely well on the water for me and has held up fantastically at the same time.

It’s smooth and has a great feel and is one of my favorite reels to use for artificial lures.

Remember, all of our reviews are completely independent and we are not affiliated with any fishing reel companies.

Have you tried this reel out? Have any questions about this review?

Let us know in the comments below.

Don’t forget to check out the Salt Strong Guide to Buying a Fishing Reel.

Tight Lines!

Related Posts:

1. Shimano Nasci Reel Review (Pros & Cons)

2. Daiwa BG 2500 Spinning Reel Independent Review (On-The-Water Performance)

3. Florida Fishing Products Reel Review [Osprey 3000 Analysis]

Do You Want To Quickly Find New Fishing Spots In Your Area?

Then you’ve got to see this private fishing club!

Here’s what you’ll receive today:

  • Weekly fishing reports and TRENDS revealing where the inshore fish are feeding all year long
  • Weekly “spot dissection” videos that walk you through all the best spots in certain areas
  • Exclusive fishing tips from the PROS you can’t find anywhere else
  • Everything you need to start catching fish more consistently (regardless if you fish out of a boat, kayak, or land).

Click here to join today.

Related categories:

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
31 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Asner Reodica
4 months ago

Hey Luke,
I know this is an old post but I’m doing research on the Fuego. You mentioned the 2nd Fuego you purchased had the top heavy, line lay issue. Was that 2nd one the 2500? From my research it seems the 2500 has the majority of the issues. Can you remember?

4 months ago
Reply to  Asner Reodica

I believe it was the 2500. But the issue was very slight so not a big deal (only had to take out a washer).

JOHN LEWIS
1 year ago

You review which you is very favorable, except for longevity/unproven over time; that review is almost 21 months old, how has the Daiwa Fuego helded up/preformed with time? Thank you. You selected TFO 7’6″ Med. I thought I saw You mention All Star or some other Academy brand; that rod model, wght.,etc. Please

Rob Lee
1 year ago

I have a couple of fuego lt 4000’s which I use in the surf for ultralight beach fishing on emcast 11′ M rods (which are the best for the money IMO), throwing small lures or flea rigs with 1 to 3oz bank sinkers. The reels flex significantly. I’m probably spoiled as I have a Ballistic LT 5000, which has NO flex.

Jonathan Tugwell
1 year ago
Reply to  Rob Lee

I have a 2500 fuego LT, that flexes unbelievably bad as well. I thought the reel came loose in the rod seat at first, but double checked and it is in fact the reel flexing. I don’t remember it happening when I first purchased it, but hooked into a 30 inch redfish and it became very evident. The drag was not heavy either, maybe 2 lbs. Seemed like a good reel at first, but I’m not going to use it anymore.

Tim Broeseker
1 year ago

New Diawa Fuego 2500 (only used about 10 trips) and starting to stick when reeling first few casts, then gets better, though still not as smooth as when first got it. Have been rinsing gently with fresh water after each use, hasn’t been dunked in salt water or gotten in the sand. Any suggestions?

Ronald Metts
1 year ago

I have three 3000 set them up went to the lake. I cannot get the drag to set on them. I thank I wasted some money.

Sean Lee
2 years ago

I bought one back in Nov 2018. I had no issues with it until this past weekend. I was fishing at a local dam, some rough currents and I hooked a small striper. Maybe 15 inches or so. I noticed the reel was flexing to its left(where I have the handle at). I was a bit dumbfounded as I had hooked on bigger fish with this reel and didn’t notice any flexing. I went out the next day and loosen my drag a bit(I used your tutorial on drag setup). I caught a couple of stripers, small ones again but no flexing this time. I just wanted to see if anyone else had the same issue?

2 years ago
Reply to  Sean Lee

I have heard of others expressing concern about that issue too. Seems as if the common theme is that they were using 20+ lb braid and had the drag pretty tight. I have my Diawa Fuego reels spooled with 10 lb drag for fishing the flats, and I have not had any issues with the flex even when battling 30+ inch snook and redfish.

Long story short, these reels seem to be designed for light tackle applications. I’d go with a metal framed reel if in need of using 20+ lb line with a strong drag setting.

Sean Lee
2 years ago
Reply to  Luke Simonds

Thanks for the reply Luke. I have 15lb powerpro on mine, I try not to to go higher than 20 on my reels. My drag prior to using your tutorial was usually by feel so maybe that was the issue. I’m kinda stuck in a tough bind with this reel. Its a great reel but at same time I am pondering if I should sell it and move onto something different.

Tom Knoblock
2 years ago

I bought the Fuego LT3000 mid September and have not used it that much fishing on the coast TX I have been rinsing it with water after fishing and now am having problems jamming up. Talked to service ctr Corpus he said if I rinsed it with water it would ruin the bearings. Talked to Daiwa he said rinsing is ok but apparently there are bearings that are not magnaseal so can be damaged. I do not recommend this reel.

Tom
2 years ago

The biggest problem I have with this reel is Daiwa corporate. On their USA site it lists their line capacity in “mono” so I was thinking 160 yds of mono which is what they listed for the 3000, however when my reel came it has on it 160 yds of 16 lb braid. This is a huge mistake. No wonder the reel seemed like a miracle to be so light for its ability to carry that much mono- it does not. This is very deceptive of Daiwa on their website.

Tony
2 years ago

Found a small issue with my Fuego LT 3000. I had to add a washer as it was laying line a bit top heavy. This raised the spool and since the 3000 is just a 2500 with a bigger spool the bail now hits the top of the spool when it’s at it’s highest point. During a heavy day of casting lures it ticks the top of the spool pretty often. Might have to return this one and see if I can get one that does not need extra washers.
They need to make the bail wire on the 2500 and 3000 a bit bigger so it does not tick the top of the spool in situations where a washer needs to be added.

Tony
2 years ago

I have 3 and they are extremely similar to the ballistic lt. I had recently bought two pflueger suprene xt reels and on first trip one started grinding so I sent those back and got the fuego LT and the fuegos are much nicer even though the pflueger had a magnesium body and rotor.

STOP WASTING TIME ON THE WATER!

Do what the “SMART ANGLERS” are doing and join the Insider Club.

Here’s what you’ll receive today when you join:

Other Fishing Tips You May Like :

Simple Sheepshead Rig (Great For Sight Fishing & Heavy Structure)

Looking for a simple (yet effective) sheepshead rig that you can quickly tie while out on the water? This rig is tough beat and is perfect for when...
See Full post
9 comments

How These Farm-Raised Shrimp Are Catching Crazy Amounts Of Fish!

Have you ever gone to the bait shop and they were out of shrimp? Here's some good news: these farm-raised shrimp are catching loads of fish and they're...
See Full post
1 comment
31
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x

THE #1 REDFISH
LURE IN THE WORLD?