G Loomis E6X Inshore Rod Review [On-The-Water Performance]

By: Luke Simonds on February 21, 2018
Found In:

This article will show you an independent review of the G Loomis E6X Inshore spinning rod.

The fishing rod we use is one of the most important tools we have for fishing because it controls so many important tasks such as:

  • Casting
  • Retrieving
  • Feeling Strikes
  • Setting Hooks

A fisherman without a quality rod that can’t adequately handle all of those tasks is at a significant disadvantage to those who do (especially those of us who often use artificial lures).

So it’s on us to put some time in to make sure we’re using the right gear for the right conditions.

The biggest problem that many fisherman face is that there is an overwhelming amount of options for fishing rods (sizes, powers, actions, etc.)…

So I’ll be picking up new rods from different manufacturers as often as possible to see how they actually compare to one another… and I’ll share my candid thoughts about them on this site so you can see unbiased reviews.

In this post, I’ll share the pros and cons of what I’ve seen in the G Loomis E6X Inshore rod after using it for the past ~6 months.

G Loomis E6X Inshore Rod Review

G loomis e6x rod review

In my quest to find the best value rod for us inshore saltwater anglers, I picked up a G Loomis E6X spinning rod so that I could give it a try.

I’ve now been using it for about 6 months, so I’ve had a good amount of time to get a feeling of how it handles in a variety of environments and conditions.

One of my first days using it was when my dog Otis jumped in on an over-slot redfish that I had on the line making me then have to battle a big fish and a big dog at the same time:)

G Loomis E6X Review Video

Here’s a video where I describe the pros and cons of this E6X spinning rod… I included some fun on-the-water footage of it in action too.

Just click on the video box below to watch it:

Sign up for FREE to receive the latest saltwater fishing videos, tutorials, product reviews, and fishing product discounts!

Click here to see the full video of when I was sight fishing from the SUP with this G Loomis E6X rod.

Additional G Loomis E6X Details

When it was first released, the E6X Inshore caused a lot of hype.

G Loomis has always been known for their quality, American-made rods. And this E6X line is the currently the least expensive series in their extensive rod lineup.

Here’s what they show on their website about their E6X rods:

“Saltwater anglers are now offered G. Loomis’ Multi-Taper Technology in the new E6X Inshore rods. Combined with E6X blank material, quality components and full cork handles, the rods offer the proper balance and the needed strength for all types of inshore action. Both spinning and casting models in the right lengths and actions for lure and live-bait use.”

G Loomis E6X Rod Specs

Let’s take a look at the specs of the rod that I’ve been using.

Take note that we tested the 8’ heavy action version of this rod… and I chose this version because its actual flex feels most similar to the rods that I typically like most…

Note: Their “Heavy” power rating felt more like a Medium Heavy for most rods I’ve used and even a Medium power of some others.

Here are the specs:

  • Line Rating: 10-20 lbs.
  • Lure Rating: 3/8-1 oz.
  • Action: Moderate-Fast
  • Price: $209.99

Its really tough to simply look at these stats and tell if it is a good rod or not. So, I always recommend going to a store that carries a large variety of rods so that you can feel how they compare to one another.

And be sure to support a local tackle store near you whenever possible.

Conclusion

Make sure to put the most thought into the fishing rod that you use compared to other fishing equipment items like reels, line, etc. because the rod is in charge of so many essential tasks.

And be sure to make time to go to a local tackle store with a large selection of rods so that you can get a good feeling of which one suits your needs best.

After spending so time on the water with this G Loomis E6X spinning rod, I certainly recommend adding it to your list of rods to check out.

If you have used any version of this E6X line of rods, please let us know your thoughts on how it has performed for you by leaving a Comment down below.

[See More Fishing Rod Reviews]

 

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
49 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Harrison Prince
5 months ago

for someone trying to purchase a model. i just considered buying the 7’6′ heavy fast and was a little skeptical about the heavy and fast and i didn’t wanna get the 8′. Ended up getting the 7 ft mh Fast and i happy with it. Heavy fast would be to stiff

joseph scotto
joseph scotto
1 year ago

purchased the 8’0 mod-fast rod matched with penn slammer 3500. Love this combo use it for walking the beach throwing 1/2 jigs for snook. landed 4 this weekend, works great and cast a mile with the light jigs, also love the new penn slamemer, great drag, finally a combo that works for all my inshore fishing.

Francisco Henriquez
Francisco Henriquez
1 year ago

Looking at the 7’6 of this rod but all I can find is a heavy fast 1/4-3/4. Do you think this might be too much for plugging Swimbaits at stripers? My next bet would be a 7ft medium heavy fast 1/4-5/8. Thanks

Francisco Henriquez
Francisco Henriquez
1 year ago

I’m in the market for one of these e6x rods and came across your video. Trying to decide between the inshore models both 1 piece to pair up with a Shimano Stradic 2500: 8ft Heavy 3/8-1oz moderate fast action and 7ft Medium Heavy Fast action 1/4-5/8oz. Is there any advantages that one may have over the other for stripers? Do you feel like you can toss heavier than what the lure rating on rod is? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 year ago

I have a e6x saltwater rod with a broken tip guide. Would you just replace the rod?

steve
steve
7 months ago
Reply to  Luke Simonds

mudhole.com has all kinds of guides and rod fixing accessories. I am in no way affiliated with them but I did just order a tip for my redbone rod. only cost me $1.50 with shipping included

Eduardo Concepcion
1 year ago

Hey Luke,

Great review. I was wondering if you had a chance to try there 7’6″ E6X rod? I would like to get one but I feel 8′ is going to be a little to long for me. Wanted to hear your thoughts on the 7’6″ and would it still be a good to get one in the heavy power.

Bruce Somers
1 year ago

Luke,

How well do think this 8’ rod would pair with the Shimano CI4+ 3000 reel?

Ryan
Ryan
2 years ago

Just purchased a 7’6 med light and put a 2500 penn conflict 2 on it and love it. Only problem I’m having is getting the most distance I can out of my cast, I think it’s just me figuring out what I’m doing wrong and getting a better feel for the new set up. Landed to nice slot reds with it in the week I’ve owned it and feels great.

Joseph Young
2 years ago

By the way, I tried to change my profile pic with the largemouth bass for several times to no avail. Can you tell me how I can switch this over to another picture. Something more pertinent to saltwater, LOL

Joseph Young
2 years ago

Joe, I agree with all your comments on the Shimano e6x Rod’s. That is pretty much all I use for saltwater. Fishing primarily freshwater all my my whole life, I felt this was the obvious choice for saltwater . However, I was curious what Rod would you use for pier fishing. I was watching the guys the other day fishing for mackerel with floats and spoons using long rods. I’m under the impression that fiberglass rods are better because of the damage that can be caused by the pier pilings. What are your thoughts? By the way, full disclosure, I’m on the Shimano Pro Staff and G Loomis so I’m a little biased, but quite honestly I swear by all Shimano and G Loomis products personally.

Charles Syverson
2 years ago

Has anyone tried a 7’6″ rod and if so, can you recommend a power? I am planning on getting the 8′ heavy and would like a 7’6″ just a little lighter.

Nick Wingate
2 years ago

Another great review! Thanks

Larry
Larry
2 years ago

I got the e6x inshore 7’ MH and tried it in the mountain river her at home before I go to the beach in Florida. My rod says 5/8 oz max lure size and that’s true. I used a 5/8 oz football jig for small mouth bass and it sounded like I was cracking the rod to cast it. Maybe 1/2oz would be better. It did handle a 38” tiger musky pulling me upstream on my kayak. No question it has fish fighting back bone. Thanks salt strong for your input. I bought this because your review. Hopefully I can try it on a king mackerel this summer and a black fin.

Bruce Somers
2 years ago

Luke. I enjoyed your review. It was thorough and very informative. Question: What size reel would you recommend pairing with it for wade fishing?

I thank you in advance for your response.

Tight Lines!🎣

Bruce Somers
2 years ago
Reply to  Luke Simonds

Luke I appreciate your response including your link to the updated reel review. Have a great day Sir. 🎣

Rich Fiorentino
2 years ago

Luke – Thanks for review. I am very happy with my TFO 7′ medium. Next will be the 7’6″. For the money I think it’s a great rod. I also would like to try Tony’s fave – a $70 Calico Jack.

Cam Allen
2 years ago

I have a 7’6” G. Loomis E6X, Medium Power with an Extra Fast action…..
And I love it! It’s super light and paired with my Shimano Stradic Ci4 3000 it’s just a killer setup.
I do agree with Luke though that these rods seem to run lighter than their power rating suggests. My Meduim feels pretty light.

I think my next blank may we’ll be the 8’ Heavy that Luke just demoed. I’ll probably move my Stradic over to that rod and buy a Diawa 2500 BG to put on the 7’6” E6X.
The 8 footer I’ll use when I’m targeting larger fish or fishing around docks etc.

I saw enough really good anglers on Youtube with E6X’s in their hands that I wanted to try one and I was not disappointed.
This setup replaced a Temple Fork TFG PSS 764-1 7’6” Signature Rod that I paired with a Pfleuger President 30XT.
I loved this setup…….until I got my E6X and my Stradic.
I still have the TFO/Pflueger setup and I still use it (mostly for throwing plugs now) but the G.Loomis paired with the Stradic makes that old setup feel like a tank now.
For a little over $200 I think the E6X is a great buy. I love mine.

John Martin
2 years ago

Hi Luke,
Swell ideas, but that E6X cost tons in Candian currency. I have your TFO rod and it cost me $176 Canadian and I love it. I also have a Calico Jack mid- Heavy and the Daiwa BG 2500. And it works great so thanks to Joes for the great view ideas.

Anonymous
Anonymous
2 years ago

I’ll probably give an 8 footer a try to see how I like it. But I’m still “hooked” on 7′ MH

Scott Capehart
2 years ago

Two questions… do you like this better than the Teramar and what reel/size did you pair it with?

Andy
2 years ago

Best review yet on this rod. I agree with it’s hard to figure out the power ratings. I normally use St a Croix Avid inshore rods. I know I can get other rods that are just as good for less but I love them. I have been looking for a 7’6 and was drawn to the E6X line, I have got to feel the 7’6 ML/M/MH side by side and I tend to agree with your assessment on how they feel. I know a lot of people say St Croix over rated their powers but at least they are consistent. Loomis is crazy and all over the place, not a bad thing just can be confusing ! I will admit I love my FW E6X though.

I’m still debating on picking up the 7’6 medium. I wish their was a demo day coming up in my area. Love the page has been a wealth of information in planning for my trip later this year!

Brian Furlow
2 years ago

I have a 7′ Med Light paired with a Penn Battle II 2000. Will absolutely casts a mile. Excellent inshore trout and Redfish set up. Believe G Loomis also offers lifetime warranty.

Joe Sheaffer
2 years ago

Luke, do you see yourself leaning towards 8′ rods? Coming from a freshwater history, and using mostly 7′ spinning rods, it has been a big surprise how much better my results have been with a 7’6 rod. I’m just wandering if the 8′ would be even better. Curious to hear your thoughts. Thanks for all the great info.

Joe Sheaffer
2 years ago
Reply to  Luke Simonds

Good to know, thanks again for the info.

Anonymous
Anonymous
2 years ago

8ft 3/8-1oz heavy Rod for throwing light lures he said…. interesting

Anonymous
Anonymous
2 years ago

I’ve used the 7’ E6X on my buddies boat ( I use St. Croix) and have never had a problem with them and he’s used them for a few years without a problem. I agree with the return policy as a plus!

Thom Ray
2 years ago

Nice. But there are so many good rods at the $100 range. I have two Falcon Outtasight 8’ rods I picked up for $89 e. And Shimano Convergence. And St Croix Triump. All less than &100

Thom Ray
2 years ago
Reply to  Luke Simonds

Save your money. Just head up to Tarpon Springs and you and Otis can go on my boat. My equipment !

John Burch
2 years ago

Picked up the 6’6″ EX6 baitcast model MH power… Curado K reel … very comfortable and light outfit … one of the pro’s is their “Xpeditor” breakage/replace service – see the Loomis web site for info.

Russ Scholl
2 years ago

Nice review Luke—Thanks