H&H “The Secret” Spoon vs. Johnson Silver Minnow [Comparison Review]

h&h weedless spoon review

It’s time to review “The Secret” weedless spoon from H&H Lure Company!

I’ve recently published a few videos on whether or not you should use swivels when you use spoons, and one product we got asked about several times was the H&H weedless spoon.

This spoon comes with a swivel and a swivel weed guard (as well as a weed guard for the hook), and since it’s been asked about so many times, I figured I’d do a review on it.

Now, full disclosure, I have not used it on the water yet, but I will share my initial opinion on it and how it compares to the Johnson Silver Minnow weedless gold spoon which I’ve used for many years.

These insights go for all spoons and will be super helpful for you in both choosing spoons and catching fish with spoons.

I’ll break down:

  • The core similarities and differences between these two lures
  • The price difference (which is pretty significant)
  • And the importance of the weed guard (one of these lures has a much tougher weed guard, which I think will cause it to catch fewer fish)

Check out the review and comparison video below.

H&H “The Secret” Spoon Review [VIDEO]

Sign up for FREE to receive the latest saltwater fishing videos, tutorials, product reviews, and fishing product discounts!

➡ Click here to join the Insider Club

First, I’ll break down the pros and cons of this lure, then I’ll talk about how it compares to the Johnson Silver Minnow.

Pros:

  • Very weed-resistant
  • Proven shape that fish love
  • Has a quality swivel

Cons:

  • $10-12
  • Stiff weed guard

“The Secret” Spoon vs. the Silver Minnow

These two lures are incredibly similar — same size body, same size hook, same color.

However, there are a few differences.

For one, the H&H has a swivel on it.

It has a ball bearing swivel, which is proven to be better than a traditional swivel for preventing line twists, but if you’re using braided line, you probably don’t need a swivel anyway.

When retrieving spoons, they should just wobble in the water, not spin.

If it’s spinning, you’re probably retrieving it too fast.

Another difference is that the H&H spoon has a very stiff weed guard.

When I’m using a Johnson Silver Minnow in areas where there is little grass or structure, I’ll bend the weed guard down.

During these times, I’ve noticed that my hookup ratio is much better.

But since the H&H weed guard is even stiffer than the Silver Minnow, I fear that this will cause it to have a lower hookup ratio than the Silver Minnow.

And finally, the other big difference is the price.

The H&H spoon is a decent amount more than the Johnson Silver Minnow spoon.

Conclusion

h&h weedless gold spoon

The H&H weedless gold spoon comes with a swivel, has a stiffer weed guard, and is more expensive than its popular counterpart, the Johnson Silver Minnow gold spoon.

Based on my recent experiments, a swivel is probably not necessary when using a gold spoon, and you can read more about those experiments here:

Remember, these are just my initial thoughts about this spoon — I’ll be taking it out on the water soon to test it out.

Have you used this spoon?

What did you think?

Let me know in the comments below.

You can get these lures on Amazon here:

And if you know someone who uses this spoon, please TAG or SHARE this with them!

P.S. Want access to our best fishing spots and tips, plus discounts to our online tackle store? Click here to join us in the Insider Club!

Stop Wasting Your Valuable Time On The Water!

Do what the “SMART ANGLERS” are doing and join the Insider Club.

Here’s what you’ll receive today when you join:

  • Weekly fishing reports and TRENDS revealing exactly where you should fish ever trip
  • Weekly “spot dissection” videos that walk you through all the best spots in your area
  • Exclusive fishing tips from the PROS you can’t find anywhere else
  • 20% OFF ALL of your fishing tackle (rods, reels, line, lures, and more from ALL of the biggest brands in America)

Click here to join today.

Related articles:

Disclaimer: When you buy through links on our site, we sometimes earn affiliate commission from places like Amazon, Bass Pro, Tackle Warehouse, etc. It’s one more way we can help you quickly find the best deals on the web while making sure we’re still around to serve you for years to come (and you do want us to be around to help you catch fish for many more years, right)?

Related categories:

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
38 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Ted Springer
Ted Springer
1 month ago

I meant to also say I tried to verify the hook up/ hook down action by pausing the underwater video every few frames to confirm what I thought I was seeing.

Ted Springer
Ted Springer
1 month ago

Luke, while watching this video, I was reminded of something I thought I observed in your Aqua Dream vs. Johnson Silver Minnow and other underwater demos. I was shocked to see how much time both spoons spend swimming hook down rather than hook up. I had always assumed they swim basically hook up and only go hook down when they are helicoptering (twisting). I was reminded to go back and look at the previous videos because when you were discussing the swimming action of the Johnson spoon in this current video you demonstrated it wobbling hook up. Unless my eyes are deceiving me, underwater footage shows them often swimming hook down and flipping back over (twisting) even at the slow retrieve speeds in your pool demo. What has been your assumption/observation on this?

Marvin Sexton
Marvin Sexton
1 month ago

Sorry forgot to mention–when you push the red cap down to cover the swivel, it impedes the swivel from swiveling normally.

Towboater
Towboater
2 hours ago
Reply to  Luke Simonds

That Red Cap is designed to keep the front of your spoon from catching grass as you throwing it in the ponds

Marvin Sexton
Marvin Sexton
1 month ago

I fish weedless spoons almost exclusively when sight fishing grass flats in the winter. I mostly fish around West Bay, PCB where the water is incredibly shallow. I can cover a ton of water without getting hung up, and they work excellent for sight casting in 6 inches of water–more accurate and more weedless than soft plastics . They don’t seem to work as well in the warmer months, probably because more natural bait around?? (any thoughts Luke?). The swivel just creates more surface area for weeds to hang up–the H&H tip profile much larger than the Johnson with a loop knot (tied so tag end points back to the lure) even with the red piece which I find unhelpful. Swivel not needed–I have no line twist issue with probably 1000 casts using 10# braid plus leader. Also the loop on the Johnson is welded on and smooth as opposed to the H&H which is a punched hole and will snag more with or without a ring.

Steve Perry
Steve Perry
1 month ago

Luke, good review! I’d like to make a recommendation for you regarding testing. It’s great you’re testing products for us all. The more realistic the tests, the more valid they would be. Would like for you to consider building a large water tank, with water pump and varied realistic structure (perhaps portable so you can change it up). Maybe something like a 3 ft deep casting pond. Could then film under water as you conduct the tests. Would take a little up front work to build the rest station, but would provide more realistic and reliable results.

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
Reply to  Luke Simonds

????????

Stephen Weiss
Stephen Weiss
1 month ago

Hello. I use the traditional spoon but I put a split ring on with a wind on leader swivel 150lb. They are really small and works great at keeping your line untwisted 

Steven Free
Steven Free
1 month ago

Well being the king of lure collectors and users I actually have 3 kinds of weedless spoons the silver minnow the h and h like your talking about and the red ripper by nemire lures and although I have used all 3 I actually like the red ripper the best one main reason being it’s the only spoon with a built in rattle something very important in our murky waters here in northeast fl but I’m not a fan of the plastic fiber weedgard that it has not good when fishing in thick grass because it has a tendency of grabbing the grass and it sticking to it and you have to physically remove it from the weedgaurd but the h and h spoon is probably the most weedless with the 2 kinds of gards it has the johnson being great also but the johnson spoon I have found that really thick grass has a tendency to push the weedgard down and the grass catches on the hook but rarely do I fish it in that thick of grass anyways good report thanks for all you do

Capt. Ray Markham
Capt. Ray Markham
1 month ago

I’m sure it was just a slip of the tongue when you were comparing the two spoons, but you said a couple of times that the H & H was being compared to the Johnson Sprite spoon. In fact you were comparing it to the Johnson Silver Minnow.
Good comments.

Rich
Rich
1 month ago

the Johnson Silver Minnow is notorious for horribly dull hooks right out of the package, how did the H&H hook compare?

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago

H&H made in china?

Anthony Bishop
Anthony Bishop
1 month ago

The H&H weed guard is shorter so it should be tougher to flex. Can’t hurt to have the bearing swivel on either spoon. But 8 bucks for the red nose cone is crazy. Reminds me of the teaser tab on the sprite

Pete Lettau
Pete Lettau
1 month ago

Funny I should get this tonight and it’s about spoons, my son and I were catching Jack’s off our dock with a 3/4oz gold gator lure spoon! Ours does have a swivel and really has outstanding action! Wish I could include a picture???????? Thanks!

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
Reply to  Luke Simonds

Yessir, tight lines all. Happy Father’s Day if you’re a Dad????

Patrick Mitchell
Patrick Mitchell
1 month ago

Do you know of any spoons made someplace other than China, preferably in the USA? H&H used to be made here in Baton Rouge, but seems they too have started making their lures in China.

Chris Stanard
Chris Stanard
1 month ago

Just a thought, Luke. It seems that the spoon would be affected by different physical forces in the water than in the air in terms of swivel performance. It may be worth doing a test in the water.

Keith
Keith
1 month ago

I’m confused……. and not to call you out, Luke. But around 2:30 into the video. You’re comparing the wires on each of ’em. You say if you’re in cleaner water (no grass) that you merely push the wire in to help with hook-ups. with the Johnson. However when you do the same with the competitor you say something to the affect of why have it then.
Take all that with a grain of salt. I haven’t caught anything but catfish the few times I’ve been out since I moved to Fl.

David Lawler
David Lawler
1 month ago

I have Johnson silver minnow spoons. I agree with your assessment of the H&H weedless spoon.
Never have i ever caught any fish using a spoon. So i must not be using in the right circumstances. Which has assortment of spoons looking back at me from my tackle box. Jokes on me i guess … lol !
The only spoon of sorts i caught fish with is a hammered finish while surf fishing many years ago.
So i would not buy, nor could you give me, the H&H Secret Weedless Spoon.

Gary Rankel
Gary Rankel
1 month ago

I think that’s a Johnson Silver Minnow, Luke, not the Sprite, which a treble hook.

STOP WASTING TIME ON THE WATER!

Do what the “SMART ANGLERS” are doing and join the Insider Club.

Here’s what you’ll receive today when you join:

  • Weekly fishing reports and TRENDS revealing exactly where you should fish ever trip
  • Weekly “spot dissection” videos that walk you through all the best spots in your area
  • Exclusive fishing tips from the PROS you can’t find anywhere else
  • Everything you need to start catching fish more consistently (regardless if you fish out of a boat, kayak, or land).
38
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x