St. Croix Avid Inshore Fishing Rod Review: Top Pros & Cons

Have you had the chance to use the St. Croix Avid Inshore fishing rod?

How well does this rod stack up against other inshore fishing rods?

Check out this awesome review of the St. Croix Avid Inshore Rod Series!!

Take a look below!

St. Croix Avid Inshore Fishing Rod Review

Sign up for FREE to receive the latest saltwater fishing videos, tutorials, product reviews, and fishing product discounts!

➡ Click here to join the Insider Club

➡ Click here to check out the St. Croix Avid Inshore Spinning Rod Series

This review is centered around the Medium-Power Fast-Action 7’6″ model.

The Pros

The St. Croix Avid is a nice rod built on a quality blank.

From top to bottom, the rod has a good blend of both power and feel.

The very tip of the fishing rod is on the softer side with little backbone to it.

This rod launches small rigs and jigs along the flats.

Also, it is an excellent choice for fishing with live bait.

The sensitive tip of the rod allows you to cast light lures and live bait without the bait sliding off.

Overall, the rod itself is balanced well and has a good blend of power gradually shifting to sensitivity at the tip.

Additionally, the other features of the rod are of high quality.

The guides along the rod are well-made and can withstand heavy saltwater conditions.

Rust on fishing rods normally starts at the lure keeper, but not with this rod.

The individual components of the rod were thoughtfully designed and put together to assemble a quality inshore fishing rod.

Finally, the fishing rod itself was built in the U.S.A.

Not many fishing rods are truly made in the U.S.A. and it further ensures the quality of the product.

This is an excellent rod choice for heavier jigs, topwater lures, as well as suspending twitch baits.

The Cons

The main con of this rod is the price point.

It is an expensive fishing rod at around $260 retail.

Another con is the lure keeper design makes it hard to secure weedless soft plastic lures to it.

It comes down to personal preference for the lure keeper but it helps for weedless soft plastics for it to be the hook design over the attached design.

The last con is situational for when you are using weedless soft plastic lures on this rod.

Your hook-up ratio will decrease when using this rod with weedless soft plastic lures.

The softer tip makes it hard for you to dig the hook into the fish and secure a firm hookset.

As far as exposed hook soft plastic lure rigs, the rod will work just fine.

The concern for secure hooksets applies to weedless soft plastic lures.

Conclusion

The St. Croix Avid Inshore Fishing Rod is an excellent choice for inshore saltwater anglers looking for a quality product that lasts a long time and holds up to its price point.

Be sure to avoid using weedless soft plastic lure presentations with this setup as it could cause you to miss out on hooksets!

We want to hear your thoughts on this rod so let us know what you think down in the comments!

Do you have any more questions on the St. Croix Avid Inshore Rod?

Let me know down in the comments!

And if you know someone who wants to learn more about the St. Croix Avid Inshore Series Rod, please TAG or SHARE this with them!

P.S. Want access to our best fishing spots and tips, plus discounts to our online tackle store? Click here to join us in the Insider Club!

Related Articles:

Related categories:

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
76 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Donald Jankowski
4 months ago

I feel like you wouldn’t have issues with weedless soft plastics with the 7 ft model.
The extra length is what makes the tip that soft.

Paul Stich
9 months ago

How would this compare to a Mojo?

Chuck Wright
11 months ago

I have two I use for inshore fishing: both 7 1/2 ft, fast action – the medium light and the medium. Both are great rods. I’ve had no problems with either. As noted, they have softer tips, which I prefer. I’ve used the medium action for Texas rigged plastic worm fishing for bass with no issues setting the hook. I use braid with a mono or flouro leader (because flouro sinks and that helps in worm fishing, especially in shallow water). Absolutely no rust issues. I’ve settled on St Croix rods for most applications because I believe the company provides the best price point/warranty/quality product out there today. And I’ve tried a bunch of them.

Kris
11 months ago

Hi- I received this rod for my birthday this October. I have had great success with this rod. I have fished Little Sarasota Bay, Sarasota Bay, Homosassa, Crystal River and Chiefland. I love the lightness, my wrist does not get tired! I have used, soft bait paddle tails, top water, spoon and a rig with a popping cork. All fantastic. Easy to cast, I love it. 7 foot medium power – fast action. Caught Snook, Red Fish and Trout.

Ross Leigh
11 months ago

Great review. I didn’t know about the softer tip. With that in mind, I am planning to get a 7′ Medium for inshore fishing in NE Florida would you recommend a fast or moderate action?

Michael Sanford
11 months ago

I have 5 of these rods that I picked up when a certain store was shutting down. 50% off at the time. Couldn’t pass up such a deal! Absolutely love them! Have the MLF, MF, MHF, and HF. I will agree that the MF can be a bit soft for weedless soft plastics but the MHF has no problems. Each action definitely has its niche for certain baits and situations but you definitely cant go wrong with one! Or 5! Thanks for the review!

Last edited 11 months ago by Michael Sanford
Steve Dupree
8 months ago

So the 7’6” MH Fast works fine on weedless soft plastics? I have an 8 ft MF and it is a little soft.

Michael Rafferty
11 months ago

I’ve had one for three years. Very high quality and , as you said, not a hint of rust or wear-and-tear. Have used it inshore and multiple times offshore on mahi up to 15 pounds. Tough backbone.

Christopher Shuff
11 months ago

Great rod that casts a mile. I have the 7’6″ medium-heavy fast and love it. It was a nice step up from the lower tier St Croix 7’6″ medium fast which I find a bit to flimsy at the tip.

Bob Kiger
11 months ago

Luke, thanks, great review. Currently I have a St. Croix Premier 7’ medium-fast which I use for casting soft plastics. It’s my best and favorite rod. But I also like to keep a rig for a popping cork with live bait on my kayak when fishing St Joe Bay in cape San blas. Which rod would you recommend for my popping cork set-up (preferably below $200). Thanks!

ronald forar
11 months ago

Hi , i am from minnesota , St Croix are made in wisconsin. You may not be aware of this . You neglected to tell your viewers that Avid rods have a lifetime warranty.I have broken st croix rods one was stepped on another broke at tip on a snag while trying to pull off of it .I sent both rods back with 20$ for shipping and received a new rod same model .Now think about that you have a rod for ten or more years it breaks you receive a new rod same model with all of the newer technologies on the replacement. It is a win for you as a fisherman ‼️

Christopher Shuff
11 months ago
Reply to  ronald forar

I believe it’s 10-15 years, not life. 😉

STOP WASTING TIME ON THE WATER!

Do what the “SMART ANGLERS” are doing and join the Insider Club.

Here’s what you’ll receive today when you join:

Other Fishing Tips You May Like :

Wade Fishing For Trout, Snook, & Redfish In The Fall/Winter

Want to catch more fish while wadefishing during this fall and winter? Listen to Wader Dave share his best secrets to have success in these seasons.
See Full post
12 comments

The Best Loop Knot For Fluorocarbon Leader To Lure or Hook [Knot Contest]

Do you want to know the strongest fishing loop knot for fluoro leader to lure? Then check out this knot contest (and videos) between four top loop knots.
See Full post
51 comments
12
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x

Get Instant Access To “The Inshore Fishing Manifesto” PDF Now

You’ll automatically be emailed a private link to download your PDF, plus you’ll be added to the Salt Strong Newsletter.
(Please double-check your email below to ensure delivery.)