Berkley Gulp Peeler Crab Review [Top Pros, Cons, & Rigging Tips]

By: Tony Acevedo on September 13, 2018
Found In:

Berkley Gulp! Peeler Crab Pack

Looking to change up your offering for redfish, black drum and more?

An interesting lure on the market these days is the Berkley Gulp! Peeler Crab.

This is a scented lure that seems to fly under the radar of most saltwater anglers.

As a result, many people don’t know how to rig and fish with these crabs.

So this post will show you how to rig and retrieve these crab baits along with a full review the Gulp Crab’s (pros & cons).

Best of all, you’ll see an underwater demo on how to retrieve this crab so that you’ll know how to fish with them if you decide to give it them a try.

Note: If you have used this lure, please share your thoughts with us in the Comments section at the bottom of this post. We are not affiliated with their company at all, so your review will not get censored in any way… all good or bad reviews will get approved.

Berkley Gulp! Peeler Crab Specs

Berkley Gulp! Peeler Crab

The Berkley Gulp! Peeler Crab comes in two sizes.

  • The smaller size one is 1″ long and comes in two different color variations.
  • The larger size one is 2″ long and comes in four different color variations.

Each Berkley Gulp! Peeler Crab pack comes with eight crab lures.

One pack of Berkley Gulp! Peeler Crabs is $6.99 on the Berkley website.

Learn more about the Insider Fishing Club

Berkley Gulp! Peeler Crab Video Review

Here is my full review of the Berkley Gulp! Peeler Crab where you can see the rigging tips and how it looks underwater.

Sign up for FREE to receive the latest saltwater fishing videos, tutorials, product reviews, and fishing product discounts!

Learn more about the Insider Fishing Club

Conclusion

Berkley Gulp! Peeler Crab on Jighead

The Berkley Gulp! Peeler Crab can be a good lure option for catching fish that feed on crabs.

It is best used on jig heads and other weighted hooks because the added weight is needed in order to cast it a decent distance.

Although it doesn’t cast very far, you barely need to move it to catch fish. Sometimes, you don’t even have to move it at all!

So to get good results, you’ll need to know where the fish are and then deliver this lure to them because you can’t cover a lot of range with it.

If you have any questions about this lure or have a suggestion for what product we should review next, let us know in the comments.

Tight Lines!

Related Posts: 

1. Rapala Skitter Walk Review & “How To” [UNDERWATER FOOTAGE]

2. Egret Baits Vudu Mullet Review & Video [Top Pros & Cons]

3. Heddon Super Spook Jr. “How To” + Review [Top 3 Pros & Cons]

Do You Want To Quickly Find New Fishing Spots In Your Area?

Then you’ve got to see this private fishing club!

Here’s what you’ll receive today:

  • Weekly fishing reports and TRENDS revealing where the inshore fish are feeding all year long
  • Weekly “spot dissection” videos that walk you through all the best spots in certain areas
  • Exclusive fishing tips from the PROS you can’t find anywhere else
  • Everything you need to start catching fish more consistently (regardless if you fish out of a boat, kayak, or land).

Click here to join today.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
18 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
RICHARD FIORENTINO
1 year ago

Hey Tony – Have you ever tried any crab lures for Tarpon? It is hard to get live crabs for bait in my area

Chad Strickland
1 year ago

Had some luck with these on a Carolina rig with a circle hook. Just “dead stick” it and let it sit, just like Tony said.

Casimir Vital
Casimir Vital
1 year ago

I have used the gulp recharge spray on a yellow foam earplug and caught some black drum and reds on that setup.

Casimir Vital
Casimir Vital
1 year ago

I have been using them on a tightline and eithe let it sit on the bottom or suspended above the weight. The fish are usually tentative at first tearing off the legs but after that the party begins. The first hit usually occurs within one to three minutes on a slow day.
Put it on the bottom in the flats or let it tumble above the weight in a current.

WAYNE JOYCE
WAYNE JOYCE
1 year ago

Anybody use this for sheepshead fishing and having any luck? If so, how are you rigging for this?

Daryl Grief
1 year ago

These work great for tailing reds. Just toss it within 5 yards of them, let it sat, and they will find it.

Christopher Hobby
1 year ago

Definitely an over looked gulp! bait. Always see those packed on Walmart shelves in the fishin’ department. Never thought about the jig head. Or just a circle hook with a split shot about the hook.

Thomas W German
1 year ago

I’ve used the Gulp peeler crabs in the grass flats just outside Crystal River, where there are a number of pinfish and puffer fish. After my first cast all the flippers were missing from one side of the crab bait. After my second cast they were missing from both sides.

Raleigh
1 year ago

Great review on a great bait. I like to rig mine with the jig head on the side. If you look at crabs just moving around, they side-shuffle from spot to spot. It’s only if they feel threatened will they jerk straight backwards, and have a ‘claws-up’ defensive stance.
It probably makes no difference to a hungry Red. Another piece of info for my ‘brothers’ here… these things SLAY Snook on the beaches, just slowly dragged along in the ‘wave wash’ , less than knee deep about 4 ft. off the sand. You can also just leave it set there, back away from the water to keep them from spooking at seeing you, and let the ‘cruisers’ find it. Thanks again for the tips and the ‘in the water’ videos!

Pablo Diaz
1 year ago

Great review Tony. Had a few questions, would you recommend pegging (with maybe a nail weight)like we do in freshwater to add more weight to the lure ? Or in the case there is current would you allow it to carry with no weight in the current to simulate a live crab? Thanks

Allen Tufts
1 year ago

Nooooo! You’ve let out the secret Tony. How could you? Now the shelves will be empty. Just kidding. I’ve used the peeler crabs for years now and have had great success with them as well. It’s truly an overlooked bait and just soaking them while using another rod is a good tactic for big reds in a feeding area. I like to rig mine on an old savage gear crab weighted hook because it’s flatter on the bottom and seems like it flutters a little on the descent and I have had a few hugs that way. Also I feel the strike a little better or at least it feels that way. Great review my only wish was if berkley made a blue crab color version.

Ps- I added some tactics I learned from one of your spot disections and hit up 4 bull reds and put some family members on some fish this past weekend. Good stuff thank you!

Allen Tufts
1 year ago
Reply to  Tony Acevedo

Tony,

Sorry I didn’t get an email notifying me you had replied to my comments and I just saw your response. As for the peeler crabs, I wish I could find a good stock of them locally the tackle shops ignore them and my academy has one rod with very old almost dried out packages in the new penny color only. I liked the chasebaits review for the shrimp so I look forward to the upcoming one for the crabs. I haven’t seen those here locally but I will get my hands on some.

The spot dissection was really a turn the corner moment. Its a bit of a story so….

I’m using the spot breakdowns and making mental notes on my past experiences and studying patterns from my years of fishing this Louisiana marsh. I never made logs or notes of my trips or the conditions but I’ve always known this spot does well during the summer this one in the spring etc. and so I was trying to apply the concepts of your dissections to my historical memory and make sense of the water.

I’ve watched MANY but the Pointe Aux Chenes set off the lightbulb. I know that water and I’ve watched it several times for hints on how to dissect it. When I was watching about 1:35 into the video you noted some dark green areas inside of a cove which you said may be deeper water or grass bottom but you weren’t sure. BAM a lightbulb went off! Having fished that cove and seen the actual water clarity difference I know that is saltier water adjacent to dirty river water flowing out of the marsh. The connection was made the darker green water imagery is clean and SALTY water! Here in Louisiana the mix is necessary we need the clean salty water to mix with the dirty fresh river water to keep our estuaries full of good sized fish. The fish, baitfish, shrimp, oysters birds etc all follow that pattern of the water. And having been on that exact area I have literally seen the fresher river water flowing out to the Gulf leaving pockets of saltier water in those coves. When I’m there in the fall fishing usually produces a few fish when you can see the ‘dirt line’.

We had a unique saltwater pushing event in the way of TS Gordon and its storm surge pushed a LOT of saltier water into the Biloxi Marsh which usually occurs much later in the year naturally from strong east and southern winds but not this early.

So now knowing to look for the darker water I decided to use the history tool on Google earth and study the fall imagery of the area. I combined my own knowledge/success of fishing flooded grass marsh during high tides ( you mentioned this concept in the Biloxi dissection) with the darker green water imagery revelation i had on the PAC dissection and studied my spots in the Biloxi Marsh. Since its a long run out there I wanted to find six spots that were saltier (dark green in fall imagery) to experiment and knowing the grass would be flooded I knew we could have a great day. I am now a pre-planning angler and the new knowledge and history tool opened my eyes to studying the area when the conditions and seasons aren’t aligned in an event like the tropical storm which basically forced a fall water condition onto the area early.

Opened my eyes to a whole new way to hunt them! The best part was actually arriving there and watching the research payoff almost immediately, being the hero of the boat to my out of town family didn’t hurt either. I put us on five great spots that hadn’t produced much anytime during the summer but the conditions changed and it worked, pre planning in general will always be a part of my growth from here on out.

Thanks again!