Chasebaits “Crusty Crab” Fishing Lure Review (Plus Retrieval Tips)

http://chasebaits%20crusty%20crab%20review

Have you tried these “Crusty Crab” lures from Chasebaits?

I’ve seen quite a few anglers claiming they’ve had success catching everything from redfish, black drum, and sheepshead on them, so I figured that I’ve them a shot.

I recently did a review on the larger Chasebait “Smash Crab” (see that review here), so I was excited to see how these smaller crabs did out on the water.

Here are the overall findings (with a video review and tips below):

Pros Of The Chasebaits Crusty Crab

chasebaits crusty crab lure review

  • Very durable (these lures will last forever)
  • The always land in the water face up due to how they are weighted
  • They look incredibly realistic (look just like a fiddler crab)
  • 2-inches (great size lure when fish are feeding on smaller bait)

Cons Of The Chasebaits Crusty Crab

chasebaits crusty crab review

  • Very light (tough to cast in the wind)
  • Don’t store them without plastic lures (they will melt together)

Watch below for the full review (plus casting and retrieval tips)

Chasebaits Crusty Crab Review (VIDEO)

Sign up for FREE to receive the latest saltwater fishing videos, tutorials, product reviews, and fishing product discounts!

What are your thoughts on this lure?

Have you used it?

Any other favorite crab lure you love?

Let us know in the comment section below.

Tight lines!

P.S. – If you think your angler friends or fishing networks would like to see this, please Tag them or Share this with them. You Rock!

FREE PDF DOWNLOAD

“The Inshore Fishing Manifesto”

The 3 Must-Know Breakthroughs To Consistent Catching Inshore Slams Faster Than You Ever Imagined.

Grab Your Free Copy Here

Related Posts:

Chasebaits Chasebaits Smash Crab Review (see it here now)

Chasebaits FlickPrawn Review (see it here now)

Berkley Gulp Peeler Crab Review (see it here now)

Related categories:

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
42 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Gerald Dexter
2 years ago

Tony, I like the crabs, However were i fish there is a lot of current, Where can I buy some?
Thanks, Jerry

Richard Fiorentino
2 years ago

Tony – Have you tried the other crab lures? Have you tried it on Sheapshead? Thanks

Hector Castellanos
2 years ago

Another great review. Do you use a loop knot as with most other artificials?

George Arndt
2 years ago

Great report as always Tony. Pretty cool to have so many choices as we head into the winter. Curious on a few things. What weight flouro do you use on this lure? 25#’s ? What knot do you tie to it? The Crusty Crab has a Number 2 hook on it….seems small but looking at all the reviews I guess it works. Any issues with hook size?

Richard Fiorentino
2 years ago

Thanks Tony – any particular color you suggest?

Dustin Burbage
3 years ago

How do these stack up to the gulp peeler crabs? I tried the gulps yesterday but they were getting absolutely destroyed by small trash fish. Two or three casts and almost nothing would be left of the gulp. If that sort of thing a problem for the Crusty’s?

Dustin Burbage
3 years ago
Reply to  Tony Acevedo

I picked up some of the crusty’s and got to test them on Sunday. I was getting consistent hits under docks with a muddie colored Crusty Crab. I used one crab, caught several sheeps and the crab is unharmed. I did pretty much exactly what you said. Throw crab, let it sit for a short bit and then retrieve with a super slow crawl. I’ve never caught a sheepshead on artificials before. This crab was an outstanding buy.

daniel doskis
3 years ago

ordered some crusty crabs there sending me different ones crusty crabs!from amazon guess they got sold out?

John Mulcair
3 years ago

Hey Tony,
Very good review of the “crusty crab”. Are crab lures a good choice as we go into the winter, or are they
only effective in the summer?

Robert Fontana
3 years ago

Hi Tony, Since this lure is so light, curious if you tried fishing it on a Carolina rig? You’d be able to throw it a lot farther and you can still drag it slowly on the bottom.

Robert Fontana
3 years ago
Reply to  Tony Acevedo

I won’t be back in FLA until late January. If you get a chance to try it before then, let me know if it works. Happy Holidays, Tony.

Joe Files
3 years ago

Will he catch a sheepshead/

STOP WASTING TIME ON THE WATER!

Do what the “SMART ANGLERS” are doing and join the Insider Club.

Here’s what you’ll receive today when you join:

Other Fishing Tips You May Like :

Quick Tip To Spool Your Spinning Reel To Avoid Line Twists

Are you spooling your reels to avoid line twists? Line twists in your braided line can lead to wind knots and tangles. But if you do this...
See Full post
74 comments

Quick 30 Second Trick To Help You Catch More Fish

Next time you're struggling to trigger strikes on the water, use this quick 30-second trick to catch more fish!!! Little things we as...
See Full post
18 comments
21
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x