Chasebaits “Crusty Crab” Fishing Lure Review (Plus Retrieval Tips)

By: Tony Acevedo on December 12, 2018
Found In:

chasebaits crusty crab review

Have you tried these “Crusty Crab” lures from Chasebaits?

I’ve seen quite a few anglers claiming they’ve had success catching everything from redfish, black drum, and sheepshead on them, so I figured that I’ve them a shot.

I recently did a review on the larger Chasebait “Smash Crab” (see that review here), so I was excited to see how these smaller crabs did out on the water.

Here are the overall findings (with a video review and tips below):

Pros Of The Chasebaits Crusty Crab

chasebaits crusty crab lure review

  • Very durable (these lures will last forever)
  • The always land in the water face up due to how they are weighted
  • They look incredibly realistic (look just like a fiddler crab)
  • 2-inches (great size lure when fish are feeding on smaller bait)

Cons Of The Chasebaits Crusty Crab

chasebaits crusty crab review

  • Very light (tough to cast in the wind)
  • Don’t store them without plastic lures (they will melt together)

Watch below for the full review (plus casting and retrieval tips)

Chasebaits Crusty Crab Review (VIDEO)

Sign up for FREE to receive the latest saltwater fishing videos, tutorials, product reviews, and fishing product discounts!

What are your thoughts on this lure?

Have you used it?

Any other favorite crab lure you love?

Let us know in the comment section below.

Tight lines!

P.S. – If you think your angler friends or fishing networks would like to see this, please Tag them or Share this with them. You Rock!

FREE PDF DOWNLOAD

“The Inshore Fishing Manifesto”

The 3 Must-Know Breakthroughs To Consistent Catching Inshore Slams Faster Than You Ever Imagined.

Grab Your Free Copy Here

Related Posts:

Chasebaits Chasebaits Smash Crab Review (see it here now)

Chasebaits FlickPrawn Review (see it here now)

Berkley Gulp Peeler Crab Review (see it here now)

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
42 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Jerry Dexter
2 months ago

Tony, I like the crabs, However were i fish there is a lot of current, Where can I buy some?
Thanks, Jerry

Richard Fiorentino
3 months ago

Tony – Have you tried the other crab lures? Have you tried it on Sheapshead? Thanks

Hector Castellanos
6 months ago

Another great review. Do you use a loop knot as with most other artificials?

George Arndt
6 months ago

Great report as always Tony. Pretty cool to have so many choices as we head into the winter. Curious on a few things. What weight flouro do you use on this lure? 25#’s ? What knot do you tie to it? The Crusty Crab has a Number 2 hook on it….seems small but looking at all the reviews I guess it works. Any issues with hook size?

Richard Fiorentino
6 months ago

Thanks Tony – any particular color you suggest?

Dustin Burbage
1 year ago

How do these stack up to the gulp peeler crabs? I tried the gulps yesterday but they were getting absolutely destroyed by small trash fish. Two or three casts and almost nothing would be left of the gulp. If that sort of thing a problem for the Crusty’s?

Dustin Burbage
1 year ago
Reply to  Tony Acevedo

I picked up some of the crusty’s and got to test them on Sunday. I was getting consistent hits under docks with a muddie colored Crusty Crab. I used one crab, caught several sheeps and the crab is unharmed. I did pretty much exactly what you said. Throw crab, let it sit for a short bit and then retrieve with a super slow crawl. I’ve never caught a sheepshead on artificials before. This crab was an outstanding buy.

Daniel Doskis
1 year ago

ordered some crusty crabs there sending me different ones crusty crabs!from amazon guess they got sold out?

John Mulcair
1 year ago

Hey Tony,
Very good review of the “crusty crab”. Are crab lures a good choice as we go into the winter, or are they
only effective in the summer?

Robert Fontana
1 year ago

Hi Tony, Since this lure is so light, curious if you tried fishing it on a Carolina rig? You’d be able to throw it a lot farther and you can still drag it slowly on the bottom.

Robert Fontana
1 year ago
Reply to  Tony Acevedo

I won’t be back in FLA until late January. If you get a chance to try it before then, let me know if it works. Happy Holidays, Tony.

Joe Files Files
1 year ago

Will he catch a sheepshead/

Capt Gleichmann
1 year ago

Looks interesting for sheephead. Did you buy them locally or on line? Any suggestion on color.

Tom Wildman
1 year ago

Tony
Great review and tips. I was out on the water using the Smash Crab yesterday and caught a keeper red based on your tips in your video of that bait. I will definitely buy the Crusty Crab and follow your tips for that as well. I cut open the red’s stomach and there was one small bait fish and a bunch of tiny brown crabs even smaller than the Crusty. Looks like a good bait. Thanks again, Tom

Paula Nelson
1 year ago

Thanks for the review and the class. I’m looking forward to trying them.

Guy Leveille
1 year ago

Thanks for the review Tony! Between James Tintle and your reviews, I pulled the trigger and ordered a package of them in the Tan color. Looking forward to trying them out! Actually, it’s been 2 months since I’ve been on the water, I’d be happy to soak a dead shrimp in a puddle at this point! 😳
Looking forward to similar results in the IR/ML area soon!

Lucas Lastra
1 year ago

Nice review, are you fishing from a paddle board these days Tony?

Danny Trevino
1 year ago

Mine just came in today! Looking forward to trying it out soon! Thanks for the retrieve tips! James Tintle has been doing really well with these lures from what I’ve seen.

Rob Gaddis
Rob Gaddis
1 year ago

Nice review. I found them on Amazon. Any recommendation regarding the color for the Crusty Crab? Amazon has eight colors listed. Ghost, Gold Digger, Gold Fleck, Mossy, Muddie, Pumpkin, Purple Fiddler and Tan. Thanks.

RICHARD FIORENTINO
1 year ago

Great video Tony- Have you tried any of the other crab lures?

Jonathan Getz
1 year ago

He’s got a good one on the Gulp crabs.

Nathan Smith
1 year ago

Caught two nice reds on the Jr size a couple weeks ago. About 6 inches of water in a mud flat. The hammered it! Wish I could post pics on this page.

James Tintle
1 year ago

Tony, great review! I did have an issue with it landing face up with 40# flouro leader fishing the pier pylons. Once I switched to 25# that issue went away. I have to agree with all of your points. The only issue I found catching exclusively sheepshead on it was the hook had a tendency to bend and became dull after a few fish. Won’t stop me from fishing it. Plus I hooked a 18″ snook on it on a slow straight retrieve in current.

Steven Free
1 year ago

Yea Tony I just became a life member considered it since I joined in 2017 I decided that it’s probably worth it instead of paying the yearly dues every year but back to the crabs awesome vid as usual what website do I have to go on to order any? I want to try both I bought a crab similar from savage gear lures but have yet to try it but like the chasebaits crab savage gears lures are also made of that tough plastic you are referring to thanks for all you do😁

Charles Phillippi
1 year ago

Awesome video. Do you think it would work dropped down pier pilings? Seems like it would work as using live fiddlers for sheepies.
Definitely worth a look. Keep up great work.