Beyond Braid Review: Great Line Or Great Marketing?

http://beyond%20braid%20review

Have you seen the Beyond Braid ads everywhere online?

We’ve had lots of requests come in to review this new braid and see if it really does go beyond our expectations.

For this comparison, I put PowerPro Maxcuatro 20# up against Beyond Braid 20# to see which one is stronger in the ultimate knot strength test.

If you’ve considered getting Beyond Braid, you are not going to want to miss this video.

Check it out below!

Beyond Braid vs. PowerPro [VIDEO]

Sign up for FREE to receive the latest saltwater fishing videos, tutorials, product reviews, and fishing product discounts!

➡ Click here to join the Insider Club

➡ Click here to check out all of our Fishing Line Reviews and Tests

In this knot strength test, I used the Double Uni knot and the FG knot.

Here’s how to tie the knots in this video:

I tie the knot, wet the line, and then test it on the knot strength machine.

And this really turned out to be no contest!

PowerPro demolished Beyond Braid.

In fact, the worst strength tests of the PowerPro were still beating the best numbers of the Beyond Braid.

And to make these results even more interesting, Beyond Braid is actually thicker than PowerPro Maxcuatro!

It’s rare that a thinner line beats out a thicker line to this extent…

But it happened!

Here are the results of this test:

Uni Knot:

PowerPro Maxcuatro

Average of 5 Rounds: 20.90 lbs.

Beyond Braid

Average of 5 Rounds: 15.35 lbs.

FG Knot:

PowerPro Maxcuatro

Average of 3 Rounds: 25.38 lbs.

Beyond Braid

Average of 3 Rounds: 23.12 lbs.

I was not that impressed with the PowerPro Maxcuatro, but more so very unimpressed with the Beyond Braid quality and strength.

Note: We do not sell either of these items so this is a totally unbiased tackle recommendation based on the true performance of the products.

Conclusion

save money on fishing line

Beyond Braid performed a lot worse than I expected!

Even though it’s a little thicker than PowerPro Maxcuatro, it’s actually significantly weaker.

Typically I would also do a casting test to determine which line is superior, but considering how poorly the Beyond Braid performed, I won’t waste my time or yours.

Have any questions about our knot strength tests?

Do you have any line you’d like me to review?

Let me know down in the comments!

Related articles:

Related categories:

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
95 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Joe Moody
1 month ago

Can you test spider wire

Jonathan Fortune
1 month ago

Thanks for saving me money! Beyond Braid is blowing up on Facebook with marketing, and it appears lots of people are buying it. Thanks again Salt Strong. You guys are awesome.

Ron Scott
1 month ago

Luke, did the FG knot break with either product? Or did the braid break near the knot? What leader did you use? The slick ads for Beyond Braid almost got me! I’m glad you’re looking out!

Dana Felix
1 month ago

I’ve never used braid before, but I just spooled two reels with 20 lb Suffix 832 Advanced Superline.
Can a comparison be made between Suffix 832, Vicious No-Fade Braid, and PowerPro Maxcuatro?

Raleigh
1 month ago

Great test! Thank You from another member you saved from curiosity, maybe. I’ve tried a bunch of spectra braid over decades since it was invented, and I always end up with Power Pro on just about everything, from light spin to heavy offshore conventional gear. It just works, at a fair price. The different TYPES, like Slick 8, V-2, and Maxquatro are very different and useful in their own ways. Never had one I ‘hated’ either. So, I’m VERY wary when I get a deluge of targeted ads everywhere I go. Or, new stuff comes on the market, and people try it. I just sit back and watch for input or comments from people I trust. Like you guys. 👍
I’ll try something that pros I know are saying, and honest, unbiased guys like you that actually come up with some very clever test mediums for different aspects of the lines. I’m in engineering, and a tackle geek into the minutiae of stuff beyond useful. Thank You for stepping up to bat first, as usual and appreciated, to drop the coin and get some to test and review. Another wannabe bites the dust.

Robert Brombach
1 month ago

Great job Luke! Just bought the new. Diawa MQ 4000 from the SS store and was looking to put the high vis yellow braid on it (10lb) Have you tested that line yet. Thanks

Richard Fiorentino
1 month ago

Every time you do a braid test, members ask you to test this brand or that brand. If you ( Luke) have been using PP, and they value your opinion, why don’t they just use PP ? That’s what I do, and PP 10# has not failed me in any way.

Last edited 1 month ago by Richard Fiorentino
ron forar
1 month ago

i just bought J braid 8 a new line that is purportedly perfectly round can you try this one

Jeff Shoemaker
1 month ago

Now that I am probably going to respool a couple of reels that have Beyond Braid line. I have never used any kind of “tool” to put line on the spool. What is the best device to use to help do the job?
Thank you,
Jeff Shoemaker

Dave Shoopman
1 month ago

Hi Luke, Dave Shoopman here.
Thanks for all your super informative tips. 
Since you have taught me a lot of things I don’t need any more, my boat house tackle shop is much more roomy.
All my crank bait plastic lures are on Craig’s list. 
I need to know how to care for my soft baits. Can I store my paddle tail and split tail baits in zip lock plastic bags ? Also what bottled scent products do you recommend ????
Burleys Gulp is an old stand by. It seems to keep my lures moist and smelling good etc.

Thank you Luke,
Keep a tight line to you too….

STOP WASTING TIME ON THE WATER!

Do what the “SMART ANGLERS” are doing and join the Insider Club.

Here’s what you’ll receive today when you join:

Other Fishing Tips You May Like :

How To Properly Pair Your Inshore Spinning Rod & Reel

Want to get the most out of your fishing rod and reel? Then you need to pair them up correctly. Check this out to learn what to avoid when choosing a...
See Full post
42 comments

How To Rig Shrimp For Inshore Mangrove Snapper

Want to learn a great way to rig shrimp for mangrove snapper? See how to hook them here, plus where to find them and what equipment you need to catch them.
See Full post
6 comments
95
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x

THE #1 REDFISH
LURE IN THE WORLD?